More Mini Wardrobe

Here is the third piece of my mini wardrobe for the pattern review mini wardrobe contest.  I have already shown my white jeans and my pintuck dress.  My third piece needed to be a  top to go with the jeans and I had been looking at this one on burdastyle for a while.  This pattern was perfect for a few reasons

  1. It was FREE
  2. It required only a yard and a half of fabric which is what I had in my stash
  3. It is very much a spring top, light and breezy
  4. It was easy and after my jeans I was in need of easy
  5. I thought it would go great with a metal belt I bought last year and have nothing else to wear with

Here it is

The pattern was designed by Dixie over at Dixie DIY you should check it out, she has lots of cute stuff.

I really love this top, it is comfortable and was super easy to make.  I used a yard and a half of fabric that I got for 2.75 so it was cheap too.  The only changes I made were to take it in a lot on the sides, I took it in as much as I could while still being able to get it on and off over my head.  I also added tucks to the sleeves so they would fit a little closer to my arm, I felt a little like I was wearing scrubs without the tucks. The neck and armholes are bound with bias tape, I was able to squeeze out my own with fabric scraps but you could easily buy coordinating bias tape to make it even easier.

Here it is without the belt and with my cardigan.  I love this with my white jeans and I have some khaki knee length cuffed shorts I think it will look nice with this summer.  I think I will make this again in a silk charmeuse for a more dressy top in which case I would not add tucks to the sleeves so they would be more fluttery.

On a side note, after I entered the contest I got a message in my box from the contest moderator

I am guessing she does something like this for all the entrants.  It was so nice of her, it just made me feel good inside and put a little smile on my face :)

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More Mini Wardrobe

  1. Meredith says:

    Way to go! Yet another cute piece you seem to whip up in no time.

    By the way, the link you put to burdastyle is actually a link to your dress…is it supposed to go somewhere else?

  2. Eugenia says:

    I love your top – it may have been fast to make but it looks very lovely indeed!

  3. dixie says:

    yay! that looks great on you. and glad it worked!

  4. Pingback: A very, very, VERY beginner sew along « montanachic

  5. Pingback: 2nd place, I’ll take it! « montanachic

  6. Pingback: A very, very, VERY beginner sew along 7- sewing the hem and the finished product! « montanachic

  7. Pingback: Me Made June days 1-6 « montanachic

Leave a Reply

