Holy Cow, I organized something, and made it kind of pretty too!

Being organized is not exactly a strength of mine.  In fact, when my friend saw my sewing room she offered to organize it if I would sew her some pillows we were both super excited for the deal, I think she is a little neurotic to want to clean whereas I am perfectly normal and balanced with my sewing obsession :) .  Anyway that will be a post for another day, what I organized yesterday was some of my kitchen cabinets.  This is what it looked like before…

It is one of those deep cabinets that makes you think you have all this storage but you really don’t because you can’t reach the back half of it.  So your food either goes stale or you just don’t put anything in the back.  In comes some sliding shelves, I got mine at http://www.shelvesthatslide.com/ you send them the measurements of you cabinet and they make shelves custom to fit.  They are a bit of a pain to install perfectly level but so worth it for all the extra usable space.

Now I have a weird thing with shelf liners.  If you use the sticky ones they never come off, and if you get the ones with holes in them they don’t stay in place and hello they have holes for crumbs and stuff to fall through.  So I got an idea after reading Diane’s post on her Ikea Billy Bookcase Makeover over at In My Own Style.  She used cardboard templates for the backs of her shelves to recover at will and change up the look of her bookcase.  So I thought it would work to make a cardboard template the size of the bottom of the pullout shelves and cover that.  I had some leftover vinyl wallpaper that I used to cover the cardboard so it was pretty, free, and if it gets dirty I can just recover it or throw it away and make a new one.

Cut the cardboard and check the fit

Cut the cardboard and check the fit

Cover with something pretty and wipe-able

Cover with something pretty and wipe-able

Pop it in the drawer and you are done!

Pop it in the drawer and you are done!

Here is the after, all organized and accessible!

Have a great day and Happy Creating!

This entry was posted in home dec stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Cow, I organized something, and made it kind of pretty too!

  1. What a great idea! Your liner looks so classy in that print.
    We put pull out drawers that hang on the side in our upstairs bathroom. There is so little space for storage in our bathroom and those are deep cupboards with so much unused space. It helped but I still find myself reaching back rather than pulling out for things we don’t use all that often.

Leave a Reply

