Mother-Daughter sewing, skirts this time.

For my daughters youth group at church they try to set and achieve a lot of different goals.  So one of her goals was to learn to sew some modest skirts.  So we decided to whip up a circle skirt for her and a high-low skirt for me.

Even thirteen year olds can’t resist spinning with a circle skirt on.

And even thirteen year olds get dizzy and fall into the bushes.  Yes I now have a teenager (yikes), she just had her birthday on Wed.

Here is the high-low skirt.

So we both love them, and since they are flared hip-elastic waist we can even share them (she is a very tall 13 year old).  I know I have mentioned it when I have sewn with my daughter before, but pass on your skills!  I love sewing with my daughter.  It is a great way for us to spend time with each other.  She is learning to do something new and there is a lot of time to talk.  So pass your skills on, whether it is to a daughter, niece, neighbor of little sister :)

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mother-Daughter sewing, skirts this time.

  1. Rachel says:

    I have a little story to share… unfortunately my sewing skills have not been passed down to my 14.5 yr old son, even though he’s around sewing he’s not interested in it & in 7th grade he hand sewed a small drawstring bag & the teacher gave him an F !
    Maybe one of my other 2 children will be more interested in sewing…

    • montanachic says:

      That is so funny! I have a feeling it will be the same with my 10 year old son. When my husband made a sweatshirt in his homec class it was so bad him mom tore it all apart and redid it.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Va-Va-Voom…..glad you are having fun and that you are eager to learn new skills and pass them down. Audrey looks lovely in the big polka dots….the Bomb.

  3. Anonymous says:

    So Cute!! I love both skirts and so happy to see that Audrey is enjoying some sewing of her own. You have an amazing talent that is definately worth passing on to your girls. Those must be the shoes Audrey was telling me about – Love them – makes her look even more grownup!! Enjoy those teen-age years!!!
    PS – I don’t remember re-doing Brad’s sweatshirt but I do remember how it looked, so I probably did! haha Sewing was not one of his strengths, I was just amazed that he even tried and completed it. There was probably a lot of grumbling in our house during that time!! Just glad he did find out what his strengths are and one of them is you!!

  4. Tanit-Isis says:

    Oh, those are both so cute! My twelve-year-old (still twelve for a while yet) has been successfully stealing my shirts and shorts for a while, but can’t quite manage longer things yet, fortunately for me. ;)

    You are seriously making me want a mullet skirt now, however.

Leave a Reply

