A plethora of projects

I have been a suuuuper lazy blogger but not so lazy in the project department.  So here is a quick update of some of the things I have been doing over the last two months.

Dining Room Lights-

I saw these lights at vintage revivals and knew they were what I wanted in my dining room.  This was one of those projects where anything that could go wrong did.  It took me months to find the vases which I didn’t even get in Montana had to get them in Utah.  Then one broke while I was drilling the hole, this I am ashamed to say caused a few angry tears and my husband to fear that I had finally cracked.  Fortunately I have an amazing sister who tracked down the last remaining vase in Utah and a good friend who was passing through and brought it up to me.  It was a big pain but sooo worth it, I LOVE these lights!

IMG_7658

IMG_7640IMG_7665IMG_7662

A gigantic clock-

My kids seem inable to look at one of the two clocks in our great room.  They are alwaysasking me what time it is when they can clearly see one of the clocks, it drives me nuts!  So I thought if I made a giant clock, and I mean giant they would have no excuses.  Shipping was cheaper if I bought two clock sets so I made two clocks.  The mechanism and hands I got at woodworkingparts.com (you have to get a special high torque mechanism for such a big clock), the wood for the clock back and trim from lowes, the nailhead trim at joanns and my friend has a vinyl machine so did the numbers for me.  I am going to sell one in a local shop.

IMG_7678IMG_7674

This picuture gives you an idea of the size, 3 1/2 feet by 3 1/2 feet.  Now when they ask me what time it is they stop halfway through the sentence and say “oh ya I can look at the clock!”  Victory is mine, mwahaha!!!!!

IMG_7636

Doll Beds-

These were made for  my daughters for Christmas using this tutorial

IMG_7679IMG_7690IMG_7686

They love these beds, possibly the best gift of the year.

So that is what I have been up to.  Have a great week!

This entry was posted in home dec stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A plethora of projects

  1. Mom says:

    Dear Karen,
    All fabulsness! You shame me with your energy creativity and initiative (SP?). What an example of motherhood.

  2. meredith says:

    Can you post a link to the clock set? I love them!

  3. Rachel says:

    you have been busy ~ I’m so impressed with all of your projects :)
    such a bummer about the cracked vase, sometimes these diy projects require so much time, energy and not to mention money, so I know how you feel.

  4. You have been so busy! That doll bed is incredibly sweet.

  5. Anonymous says:

    You never cease to AMAZE me Karen!!

Leave a Reply

