My Fourty Degree Coat

Well I made a coat, or a jacket, or a coat, or somewhere in between.  You see part of living in Montana is weather that is all over the place.  Last week it was 40 degrees, the week before that it was zero degrees.  So I have my light jackets for fall and my heavy down filled coat for those really cold days but I needed something for in between.  So I picked this pattern.  

Simplicity 2508

I decided to go with the one on the bottom right because I thought the collar was pretty cool but I used the welt like pockets because I really don’t think I need big square pockets accentuating my hips.  This coat took me FOREVER.  I think I bought the fabric in Oct and just finished it today, but I really do love it.  So here it is

I am  really happy with it.   I wanted something that you couldn’t find in the store and I wanted a brighter color than the typical black, gray and navy coats out there.  I will say that I had quite the dilemma when I bought this fabric.  I was really drawn to this green zebra print which is really not me.  I am not an animal print kind of gal.  I probably sat there for a half hour just staring at this fabric and the zebra.  I finally picked this one because it was more “me”, and I figured if I was going to put all the time and energy into making a coat I shouldn’t pick a fabric that I might hate next month.  I think my subconscious was realizing what my conscience would not, and that is what a pain it would be to match this pattern at the millions of seams in this coat.  Zebra print would have meant no matching.  Oh well, as you can see after a lot of time carefull cutting, sewing, seam ripping and sewing again I got everything matched up.

 

Back View

I think my boots look pretty kick-A in this back view.  On a side note they asked my kick-a boots and me to be in the next Charlie’s Angels movie, but I said I couldn’t because I had some sewing to do.  To make this coat more “40 degree” appropriate I interlined it with flannel.

 

side view

Another thing I like about this pattern are the big cuffs cut on the bias.  Something knew I tried with this one is hair canvas for the collar and I gotta say that stuff is amazing.  If you are going to buy it look at tailoring supply websites rather than sewing websites, it seems to be cheaper there.  I found mine here for crazy cheap.  I bought a bunch of it to have for the future.  My collar is standing wonderfully in the back because of it.  I know iron on interfacing would not be able to do this on such a pronounced collar.

I don’t have a tailors ham so I had to get creative in shaping my collar.  Poor teddy, he had to sit like that all night.  I hope he isn’t afraid of the dark.

 

close up

Here is the close up so you can see how absolutely amazing I am at matching up patterns.  Also a close up of the buttons that I decided to go vintage on.

DEFINITION — Vintage

Websters — : of old, recognized, and enduring interest, importance, or quality :

Montanachic — I am too cheap to buy ten new buttons so I bought an ugo polyester jacket at the salvation army for a buck and cut them off.

The last thing I did to really draw out the process was bound button holes, they aren’t perfect, but I am getting better.  So this jacket took forever to make, but it is super practical and I know I will get a lot of use out of it.  In the six years that I have lived in this state I have seen snow in June more than once, so I have lots of months left to wear this coat/jacket/coat….


This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Fourty Degree Coat

  1. toy says:

    great work. this is beautiful

  2. Katherine says:

    This is fabulous. Seriously, fabulous. The fabric is great and you did an amazing job matching, AND the buttons are beautiful. Love it all!

  3. Meredith says:

    It is FABULOUS! I am staring at my computer screen in total awe and amazement. So cute and so you! How much would someone have to pay you to make another one?

  4. Camille says:

    WOW. this is awesome! I wish you could have done both coat fabrics and seen what they would have looked like. I love how this is so beautiful classy and very unique. Great job. I am super impressed, I hope I can do stuff like this someday!

  5. Mary says:

    Beautiful! I love your coat. Congratulations on a super fit and a stylish garment!

  6. SewOm says:

    Its awesome. That print rocks and so does your ability to match patterns!

  7. opal says:

    Beautiful coat. I love the fabric.

  8. Jada says:

    That is sooooo Fabulous!! Awesome job!!

  9. dixie says:

    i love that definition and the coat it pretty cool, too 🙂 great color.

Leave a Reply

