One yard challenge

While perusing the red tag clearance section at Joanns last month I saw a lovely purple and gray watercolor like peachskin print that I thought was pretty.  At only two dollars a yard I thought “why not” and the bolt went in the cart.  When it was cutting time my brain decided to take a vacation and I got only one yard of the fabric.  I didn’t realize this was a problem until I pulled it out this week and thought “what on earth can I do with one yard of peachskin”?  It isn’t stretchy enough for a top and it is such a light material you would need a lot of it to make a fuller skirt.  So I decided to make it a challenge to see what I could do with one yard.  Here is what I came up with…

I knew I wanted a shirt but that I didn’t have enough fabric to cut a bodice and sleeves so I cut it all in one.  I cut the sleeves as blousy and big as the fabric would allow so I could do this…

I just took my needle and thread and started sewing little gathers all over the sleeves.   I used the wrong side of the fabric because it was dull rather than the shinny side so it would look more casual.  Oh, and I also made the belt  out of  some dark purple pleather that I found on the same red tag clearance table.  All in all I am happy with this top.  There is nothing “technically” correct about it.  I just kind of sewed it trying knew things, but sometimes  I think that is a good way to learn what works and what doesn’t.  I decided this shirt is appropriate for super bowl weekend because my shoulders have a bit of a shoulder pad look to them 🙂  What can you sew with one yard?

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One yard challenge

  1. toy says:

    I like the ruching at the shoulder, that is nice, I know you will wear it alot this summer, its a cute top

  2. Katherine says:

    So cute! I like the one yard challenge. I miss having a JoAnn’s with a clearance table – the one in my mom’s town has a whole section, and the one here doesn’t have anything at all! Not that I should complain because they have so many coupons, and I live in a place with other (more expensive) fabric stores, but still. It’s fun to see what you can find on clearance!

  3. Meredith says:

    That is awesome! Non-technical sewing is about the only kind of sewing I do.

  4. Camille says:

    That is so awesome! It looks beautiful and very cute on you. I am impressed you did all that yourself with only a yard!

  5. jessica says:

    that should totally be a project runway challenge…1-yard of fabric only! awesome!

  6. Pingback: Me Made June, Days 7-13 « montanachic

Leave a Reply

