Cheater Sewing

On occasion I like to do some t-shirt refashions, or as I like to think of them “cheater sewing”.  I mean I guess it is technically sewing because I used a needle and thread but if I didn’t cut anything out I just feel like I am cheating.  Anyway I saw this turquoise long sleeved t shirt while I was out one day.  It was only five dollars so I thought it would be great as a layering piece.  For some reason, probably having to do with a certain two year old, I wasn’t able to try it on but I got my usual size so I thought it wouldn’t be a problem.  When I got home and put it on it was just boxy, baggy and sad.

poor shapeless t-shirt

So I got out my trusty needle and thread and went to work.  Anthropology had a lot of stuff last year with asymmetrical ruching so I decided to go for that look.

I like the way this dresses up a simple t-shirt, but I have a hard time making asymmetrical stuff.  I have to fight the desire to make things even.  Littlejazzbird over at Jazz Couture suggests that if you are not loving your face for some reason (hers was 1.5 hours of sleep) do a pic with the hair in the face.  I did get more than and hour and a half of sleep, but I also got some “quality” time with my two year old at three A.M.  This shirt took me about an hour and a half to make.  I just turned on some talk radio turned the shirt inside out and started randomly sewing gathers in the fabric.  After sewing two inch sections I would try it on and see where I needed to gather next.  So I just sewed away while the previously mentioned two year old took a much needed nap.  It was a nice way to spend the afternoon.  I think I will get a lot of everyday use out of this shirt.  It is casual, but the ruching adds that little bit of chicness I am looking for.

 

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheater Sewing

  1. toy says:

    the side embellishment is very interesting, I didn’t notice it in the full shot, so I guess from far its discreet.

  2. melissa says:

    What a great improvement! I really like the new version…

  3. Diane says:

    What a great solution! Looks fabulous!

  4. Meredith says:

    I would never have thought of that to fix a t-shirt that didn’t fit well. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

