It IS Easy Being Green

Well Roberto (my serger) and I finished the knit top we were working on on valentines day.  I did a copycat of an old worn out  Banana Republic shirt I have had for a couple of years.  I just cut it up and used the pieces for my new “pattern”.

This is a really easy way to replicate an old pattern.  Just make sure to add seam allowances when you cut it out.  The blue pieces were the original shirt.  The green piece is from an old long sleeve shirt (the shirt being copied had short sleeves and I wanted long).  The nice thing about doing this, and sewing in general is that you can change things to make it fit better.  The original shirt was a little too deep in the v-neck and the seam under the bust was always riding up and not staying in place.  So when I cut out the new shirt I raised the neck line and added an inch to the bottom of the bodice.

I really like this top.  I wore the old one quite a bit even though the fit wasn’t the best so I think this one will get a lot of use.  I kind of feel like kermit the frog in this color, but who doesn’t love Kermy!  Now I just need to find a pink pig to love me…

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It IS Easy Being Green

  1. melissa says:

    Isn’t that the best? You can replace your favorite clothes and improve on them *because* you sew! I have several things that I have made over and over again over the years… it just can’t be wrong if you know what you like.

  2. toy says:

    I love me some Miss Piggy!
    She is a Diva so if you find her tell her to come see me.
    I love this top and I see why it was your favorite because it fits so well.

  3. Meredith says:

    I’m no piggy but I love you.

  4. melissa says:

    This is a really cute design! I can see why you wanted to copy (ahem, improve!) it. And if you eventually get sick of green, well, now you can make as many as you want of these in whatever colour you like. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Me Made June days 1-6 « montanachic

Leave a Reply

