Trendy Trend Trend

I have gone a bit trendy with this garment, I think.  It is hard to know if I am being trendy or not because I feel like I am not especially up on the latest fashion goings on and also I live in Montana, which I have explained before is a little behind on the fashion times.  Anyway my project this last week was McCalls 5186.  About two years ago I was visiting family and while shopping I asked my young college age brother what I should buy.  He pointed to a vest and said “vests are really in now”.  My first two thoughts were “at 30 I am too old for that”, and “I wore a vest in 7th grade”.  Anyway, I didn’t think much more about it until I was watching a show this summer and saw a woman in her thirties wearing a vest and I thought it was really cute.  So I don’t know if I have to give trends a few years before I like them, or if I have to see them on someone similar to myself to get the idea.  Ultimately though it is cold here and I am always looking for layering pieces, so even if it is trendy it has practical value.  So here it is

casual running around town

I made version C.  The only difference I made was to add about 3 inches to the bottom, I thought this made it more proportional for my figure.  You can’t see it in the picture but the fabric has a tonal pin stripe to it so it has that menswear vibe.

dressed up for date night

One of the things I really like about this vest is I feel like you can dress it down with a t-shirt,or up with my charmeuse blouse.  Also do you like my pose in the date night version?  I was trying to pose like the model on the pattern envelope, it was hard not to laugh while I did it.  Why do they pose some of the drawings the way they do.  Real women do not stand that way.  So what do you think?  Trendy?  Or will this vest be a staple in my wardrobe for years to come?

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trendy Trend Trend

  1. jen stratford says:

    Great vest – I really like it and how you have styled it for both looks. A keeper!

  2. tricia says:

    Very cute. I share your feelings about trends and age appropriateness. It is also difficult when you see a trend come back in fashion. The vest looks great on you.

  3. Camille says:

    Good job Karen! Very cute vest!! Try wearing it with a Vneck tshirt unbuttoned. With jeans. I think that would look cute I see people wearing it like that a lot. I would totally wear that vest!

  4. toy says:

    I like it alot and you will get lots of use out of it

  5. Eugenia says:

    I love your new vest – it looks super-chic. This is gong to look good with so many different outfits, I particularly love it with your beautiful charmeuse blouse – perfect for date night!

  6. Pingback: Me Made June, Days 7-13 « montanachic

Leave a Reply

