The FUN way to do home dec sewing!

I know there are many of you out there who think home dec sewing is boring and only worth doing if you are saving ALOT of money.  Well, last weekend I had so much fun doing home dec sewing, the most fun I have had sewing in quite a while in fact.  How did that happen? you may ask.  Well, I confess it was because I was doing it with three of my sisters!  Two of my sisters who live down in Utah are pregnant right now.  They did not have an easy time getting pregnant.  It took them a lot of time and even more money to accomplish it so my other sister and I wanted to do something extra special for them.  So we flew into Utah and helped them get their nurseries ready.   So the long weekend (Friday through Tuesday) was spent painting, sewing, eating lots of yummy food, and getting our hair cut one night.  It was busy but fun.  These are the things we got done

  1. Two rooms painted
  2. One dresser painted
  3. Two side tables painted
  4. One lamp shade covered
  5. Two bedding sets sewn
  6. One cornice box made and covered
  7. Two cute pillows made
  8. Countless chocolate desserts consumed

My sister got a lot of her ideas from blogs so I will try to include all the links with the pictures.

She is going to name her Camryn, so cute!

picture frame

Pelmet and Lamp

This was a dark brown kind of boring table before we got our hands on it.

I know, this ruffle pillow is so FREAKIN CUTE!

Here is a better view of the lampshade fabric all her fabrics were from the Fandango collection by Kate Spain.  She is planning on painting the base of the lamp in the blue.

Camille (due in August), Mom, Leslie, Me, Stephanie (due next month)

Here is our final picture taken about 15 minutes before we left for the airport.  All the pictures are of the room for the baby due next month.  I didn’t post pics for the other room because she still has a lot of those decorating decisions to make, and crib bedding doesn’t look quite as cute when it isn’t in the crib yet.  Camille has promised me lots of pics when it is all done then I will post them.  So I guess my the big lesson learned is that if you have to do a lot of home dec sewing do it with people you love.

This entry was posted in home dec stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The FUN way to do home dec sewing!

  1. Meredith says:

    That pillow IS cute. Is it hard to make? How long did it take you?

  2. Stephanie says:

    CUTE!!!! I am so grateful for all the work you did! You are truly amazing!!! And you are so skinny and look even skinnier standing next to me while I’m all chubby and pregnant, ha ha. Thanks for all your hard work and just being awesome!!

  3. melissa says:

    Aww, congratulations to both your sisters!! (and I think your first sentence describes my thoughts exactly!)

  4. Camille says:

    This was such a fun weekend. It could not have been a success with out leslie and karen. Both baby rooms are so adorable! Home decor is so fun!
    Thanks!!!

  5. Marty says:

    Just a hi! Found your blog on Miss Celie’s Pants. I live near Yellowstone park in Gallatin County. Howdy neighbor!

Leave a Reply

