Self Drafted Jeans

Well I am officially done with my self drafted jeans and I gotta say I am feeling mighty proud of myself right now.  I found the instructions on this website the website is called weekend designer, but if it were my jeans it would be called month long designer because these took me a long time.  Granted if I didn’t have a life to live I could probably have done these in a weekend but my children just keep insisting on things like food and clean clothing, well the food anyway my two year old would live naked if I let her.

Anyway for all the work these jeans were I will say they were 100% percent worth it.  The first muslin was unwearable but a good learning tool, the second muslin I finished as my green corduroy pants which are very wearable but not quite perfect.  So for these jeans I changed a few simple things, moved the pockets in the front a little, made them a little lower in the rise, made them a little more boot cut at the bottom and made the pockets a little smaller on the back, and redid the curved waistband so it is a little more in porportion.  I LOVE these jeans, they fit great, not too tight not too baggy.  I hate feeling like my pants are falling off or riding up in back.  So here they are.

I know they are white and I have four kids so WHAT AM I THINKING, but guess what?  I don’t care.  I like them and they are comfortable and look good so I will invest in bleach and deal with it.  A few important things I learned about sewing with denim is

  • Invest in some good denim needles, I even bought a double needle so my topstitching looks even.
  • When you top stitch use a long basting stitch.
  • Baste your back pockets on and try them on before you do two rows of stitching that you don’t want to unpick.
  • Rivets are not just for looks, they hold the pocket in place so it doesn’t go all wonky.

These jeans were my fourth item for the pattern review mini wardrobe contest so yay I am done!  The dress I posted was one of the four and I have two tops that I finished last week but didn’t want to post till I had these jeans done so there will be more to come this week…

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Self Drafted Jeans

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Smoking! I just may need a pair of white jeans one of these days… After the red ones 😉

    You won’t mind if we start a pool in how long til the first stain, though, will you? 😉

  2. Don says:

    Hello, this is Don (aka Weekend Designer). All I have to say to you is BRAVO! Excellent job on your jeans pattern.

  3. Mary says:

    Wow!! Your jeans look fantastic! Congratulations.

  4. Eugenia says:

    Wow! I am super-impressed. I have never made a pair of jeans but, when I do, I want them to look just like yours. I love the shape and you have got a perfect fit! Personally, I love white jeans for summer – they look good and go with everything.

  5. Angela says:

    These are fantastic! Love the fit. I may have to revisit the Weekend Designer.

  6. Pingback: More Mini Wardrobe « montanachic

  7. toy says:

    wow, these fit so well, I can’t believe you made these self drafted, incredible.

  8. dixie says:

    wow, those are pretty amazing. i’m so impressed!!

  9. Katie says:

    AMAZING!!! They look fabulous. Nice work.

  10. Pingback: The dress that took forever « montanachic

  11. Pingback: Me Made June days 1-6 « montanachic

  12. Pingback: Why store bought pants are bad for a girls self esteem, oh and I made some pants! « montanachic

Leave a Reply

