Spring Top For Mini Wardrobe and the composite of all the looks

Has anyone seen Field of Dreams?  The major line of that movie is “If you build it they will come”, of course they are talking about baseball not sewing and since my husband is a MAJOR baseball fan I have seen this movie ALOT.  Any way as I was making this top I kept imagining James Earl Jones saying to me in his deep gravely voice “if you sew it spring will come”.  Well I thought it had worked, last week was very rainy, then I woke up to about 3 inches of snow this morning.  Oh well this top still makes me think of spring, maybe if I turn up the heat while I wear it and avoid looking out any windows I will be able to pretend it is spring.

I made this top from Mccalls 5516. It is an old out of print pattern that I made a dress out of three years ago that I still wear

The major changes I made were to shorten it to shirt length, shorten the sleeves and use elastic instead of a cuff and I rounded the hem.  You can’t tell in this pic, but the neck kind of gapes a lot and I always worry about bra strap showing, so I made the neck line a little smaller.

gathered sleeve and curved hem line

I love the fabric of this top, I got it at Joann’s for about 2 dollars but I would have spent more.  It reminds me of an impressionist painting.  Anyway if the weather ever warms up around here this top will be perfect.  So that is the last piece of my mini wardrobe challenge.  Here is the composite shot

I love how it all turned out!  I was going for light and bright and springy.  I also feel between all the pieces I have different looks for lots of different occasions, and I love that I based it all around the cardigan so all the looks will work in cool or warm temperatures.

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Top For Mini Wardrobe and the composite of all the looks

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Hmm, I’ve been trying that approach all month it seems like… Well, eventually it has to work, right?

    Cute top.

    I DO believe in springtime… I do, I do…

  2. toy says:

    congrats on finishing up the collection. I love the spring patterned top, very cute

  3. melissa says:

    Ooh I love that tulip fabric – you’re right, it is very impressionist! It looks fantastic on you and paired with the rest in your wardrobe!

  4. Camille says:

    WOW! I love love love it! all of it!

Leave a Reply

