Reverse Psychology

As a mother of four I  am a master at the art of using reverse psychology to get a desired outcome.  If you read my blog with any amount of regularity you know I am kind of obsessed with the coming of spring.  Since all my other efforts to get spring here appear to not be working, I thought I would go with the old tried and true reverse psychology.  So rather than making a cute summer dress that would just languish on a hanger in my closet taunting me with it un-wearability.  I decided to make a winter dress.  So if I tell the sewing gods I am making a winter dress they will decide to make it spring so I can’t wear it, right?  This is my latest plan of attack.  Plus I found this fabulous pattern at the thrift store.

I promise you I did not make the pants, although I gotta say they look very Mondo from project runway.  I made the first dress on the left.  I had some cream and black boucle in my stash that I bought to make a short sleeved jacket but I knew even when I bought it that I wouldn’t like it for a jacket but I bought it anyway, have you ever done that?  Anyway, I thought I hated the fabric since it wouldn’t work for a jacket, but I found that I really quite like it for this dress.  Then I discovered my cut of fabric was too short for the pattern.  ANGER, ANGER, ANGER!!!!!  I was about to give up but then I thought the pattern seemed really long.  So I held it up to myself and realized they gave A LOT of extra length to hem.  So I decided if I went with a very narrow hem I could work it out.  So I happily cut it out and started sewing away.  Once the darts were in and the shoulders were sewn I tried it on and it was obvious that the bust darts were too low and the arm holes were really big also.  Well this was an easy fix, just add an inch to the shoulder seems, no problem, except that 1 inch was my seam allowance for my hem, urghhhhh.  I hate dresses that are an inch too short.  I have some weird issues about the unattractiveness of my fat knees.  I was about to give up and toss it all when a light bulb went on above my head (and no I am not referring to the fact that my two year old is constantly turning the lights on and off when I sew) I had the BEST idea.  Since the neck and armholes are finished with bias binding I decided to finish the bottom that way also!  So it all worked out beautifully, here it is…

This fabric is not very photogenic, I wish you could see the texture in the pic.

Here you can see the bias binding on the hem.  You can also see that I haven’t yet ironed my side seems 🙂  I know the pictures look sunny and springy, but I promise you I risked hypothermia to get these pictures.  Last night it snowed a little and this morning it was 23 degrees when I took the kids to school.  So while it really isn’t winter anymore I can’t quite call it spring either.  At least I have a cute dress to wear while I wait.

This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reverse Psychology

  1. Meredith says:

    I always wondered what bias binding was…:)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Love it – super cute. Who needs spring?

  3. Eugenia says:

    I love this beautiful retro style and it looks wonderful paired with the black turtleneck and belt. You have done a great job overcoming your fabric shortage!

  4. SewOm says:

    Good for you – doing something to help spring get here! The dress looks good – its the perfect length and the bias binding is flattering. Plus, since its a jumper, its probably the perfect layering piece for transition weather.

  5. Steph says:

    So cute! You are so sassy in the pics too! I love it 🙂 If you open an etsy shop and sell your clothes you should steal from TAMN and call it “Sassy Hobo” ha ha ha. really though, I’m always amazed by your talent. And your knowledge of sewing! You are awesome@!

  6. Camille says:

    Karen you are amazing! I love this dress! I want to make it. You are completely inspiring me. You are so talented I think I am going to start sewing more things and just call you if I have dumb questions. 🙂 This dress is super cute and very wintery I think. good job!

Leave a Reply

