2nd place, I’ll take it!

Well lovely ladies, the voting is over in the pattern review mini wardrobe contest and I got second place!  I was surprised because there were some beautiful wardrobes.  Patty was the big winner which isn’t surprising since I want to make everything she did, and Melissa got third for her amazing wardrobe.  I think of every entry hers was the most difficult, jeans and a leather skirt, the girl has some mad sewing skills.  So I am so happy with my second, thanks to everyone who voted for me :).  I think I might become addicted to contests.  I have always been competitive but I never thought my hobby of sewing could be competitive.

In other news I hope everyone who is participating in the very, very, VERY easy sew along is having fun buying their fabric.  There was one question about whether or not you can make your own bias tape out of your fashion fabric.  The answer is that yes you can.  You can either buy an extra half yard of fabric, or if you don’t mind seams I will show you how to piece short pieces together (that is what I did with my navy version).  My sister who I am doing this all for is out of town right now so I will do the next step of the sew a long next Thursday, so enjoy gazing adoringly at your fabric until then.

On a side note I remembered a conversation I had with my husband a couple years ago about my sewing

Me– (close to angry tears while I attempted to seam rip french seams from a sheer fabric) “#@#$#, $@#$%, ^#$%#$#$”

My husband– (while gently but firmly prying said fabric from my fingers) “Why do you do this, you obviously aren’t having fun”

Me– (yelling) “Because I enjoy it darnit!”

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2nd place, I’ll take it!

  1. Bernice says:

    Thanks for your advice regarding my winter coat – simplicity 2508. I checked out yours. Very lovely indeed. The colour in so nice on you.

    Congratulations for getting 2nd place in the wardrobe contest. You did such a good job.

  2. Meredith says:

    Congratulations on second place! I didn’t even know there was voting, or I would have voted for you.

  3. TishSch says:

    Congratulations on second place! That’s great! And your wardrobe was very nice, very Spring-y! 🙂

    I had already decided to attempt making my own bias tape for the sew-along since I couldn’t find any to match. I already had my fabric cut (and my heart set on it) before I realized this. I HAD to get the fabric that was the most difficult to match, right? It figures! LOL! But, I’m looking forward to the sew-along. So much in fact, I’ve already bought another bundle of fabric to make a second one (providing I do well on the first one, that is! LOL!)

  4. Julie says:

    Congrats on your second place!

    HAHA, I just had this same conversation @ my sewing class on Friday night.
    I must have been making noises bc another sewer said Julie try to relax. I said I am relaxed. She said it doesn’t sound like it…:) it was very funny!

  5. woodridge2rs says:

    Congrats! Your wardrobe was beautiful!

  6. Carolyn says:

    Congratulations on your mini wardrobe success!! That is great news. Not really surprising, as I loved your wardrobe.
    Hehe, your conversation with your husband made me smile, we’ve had a few like that too 🙂

  7. Eugenia says:

    Congratulations! Your wardrobe is gorgeous, I love every piece, definitely worthy of such an award.

  8. Angela says:

    Congratulations on a job well done. I love your wardrobe concept.

  9. Mom says:

    What a wonderful way to communicate with other sewers. When I was your age and sewing it was me and the kids. And that you can take ‘languishing’ pictures. I love it and wonderful on your getting second place. Almost makes me want to sew again. I can just hear Brad’s tone of voice while making those comments. What a man!

Leave a Reply

