The Dandelion Dress

Ahhhh summer dresses, how I love you!  You are easy to sew and fun to wear.  Now you may think it is odd that this dress made me think of weeds (dandelions), but what you have to understand is that I have a six year old who is constantly presenting me with dandelions and hugs so they have become a beautiful flower to me.  I found this fabric at a thrift store for one dollar a couple of weeks ago and I fell in love with it.

It is weird because if I analyze it the green of the stems is too neon, the yellows are to mustardy and gold, but all together it works and I had to have it.  So I bought the yellow knit to go on top.  This is another departure for me.  I have never sewn something yellow for myself.  It is one of those colors that I have always been convinced that I can not wear, but the fabric told me it wanted yellow to go with it and I have learned never to argue with my fabric because first the fabric is always right, and second it would mean I have literally and openly gone crazy.   Anyway here she is, the dandelion dress.

I did this without any official pattern.  I just copied an old t-shirt for the top.  Since I only had a yard for the bottom I sewed the selvage sides together to make one big tube and serged it to the top with some clear elastic to keep the waist stretchy but fitted.  This was nice for the throw it over the head no zipper factor, but the waist was looking a little wonky so I used the 4 inches I had cut off the bottom to make a sash to tie around the waist.  I may cut the sleeves shorter in a couple of months.  This week our highs have reached 70 (yay) so the longer sleeves are a little nicer for the evening.

People are always asking me how long it takes me to sew stuff.  Since I usually sew in 20-30 minute increments and often with a two year old sitting on my lap I never quite know so I am going to start timing myself.  So here are some stats on this one.

time- 2 hours (it would have been less but the yellow knit was so sheer I had to line it)

cost- 6.50

This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Dandelion Dress

  1. Meredith says:

    I think the sash totally makes this dress! Love it.

  2. zilredloh says:

    This is so lovely! I love the print in the skirt. What a great fabric find. 🙂

  3. Caroline says:

    just discovered your blog from Carolyn’s Handmade by Carolyn. This print is really lovely; I might have had to have it too! The belt really dresses it up.

  4. Mom says:

    I love that you are standing in a lawn area that exactly matches your dress! Cool!

  5. Carolyn says:

    This outfit is really gorgeous! And I second that, standing in the grass with the matching flowers to the print in your skirt looks just amazing!
    And thank you for your lovely comment on my Mum’s jacket. She was thrilled to get so many compliments!

  6. Camille says:

    Seriously? I love it! I love everything about it! I am starting to want to steal from your closet! All your clothes are so cute and so chic!

Leave a Reply

