The next Generation

Random Question:

Who do you know that would polish shoes in the middle of the nicest carpet in the house?

Answer

My husband, who on a side note feels really bad about the black stain on the carpet, ARGHHHHH!

Now to soothe my frazzled carpet hating nerves lets talk about sewing, ahhhh much better.  I have three daughters and it is really important to me to teach them to sew.  For a lot of years it seemed like sewing was a dying art, but I feel with sewing blogs and shows like project runway it is making a bit of a comeback.  So I am trying to do my part in the “come back” by teaching the next generation to sew.  So far my eleven year old has made a couple of skirts.  This is her latest.

I found the tutorial for this skirt at no big dill.  When I saw it I knew it would be a great beginner project because it involves sewing a million strips of fabric on with a straight stitch.  I decided to add some lace along with different white and cream scraps I had in my stash.  It took quite a while for her to do because she would work on it a little at a time and honestly sewing a straight stitch over and over can get boring, but we had a nice time.  Usually while she was sewing I was cuting something out and we could talk while we did it.  It was EXCELLENT mother daughter time.  All the strips are cut on the bias so there is no need to hem them, but it does lead to the skirt having a little bit of a messy look, but it is still very cute, in fact this picture really doesn’t do it justice.  The jacket I found at a local thrift store for one dollar!  It was long sleeved with a hole in the elbow.  So we just cut the sleeves off and it is better now (I promise one of these days I am going to remember to take before pictures).  Here is the back view.

My six year old is not quite ready for cutting and sewing, but she did help me out with this little project.  Her kindergarten quilt.  She has an amazing teacher who does quilts for all the kids in her class.  Every month she has them do handprints on quilt blocks with finger paint matching a theme for the month, thanksgiving had little handprints turned into turkeys etc.  They are so cute, even though none of the fabric matches :).  I know that is a lot of work so I volunteered to help sew them up.  We had so much fun laying out the quilt, then my daughter would bring me the pieces and I would sew them together.  It was actually really helpful and she had so much fun doing it.

Lastly I feel that since I am always complaining about the LONG winters here I should share some pics of why it is worth it.  Since it is finally spring we decided to go to one of the millions of lakes (I am not kidding there are tons) that are withing a 1/2 hour driveWe went to my favorite, the biggest in the area, and the most beautiful I have ever seen Flathead Lake.  We went to one of the rocky beaches because if there is one thing kids love it is throwing rocks in water.


Plenty of rocks for throwing

So just one visit to the many beautiful places like this that are so close and I have to admit that the winters are worth it, of course I am sure I will still be complaining my head of next year 🙂

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The next Generation

  1. Meredith says:

    You’ve inspired me to learn to sew more so I can teach my daughters…great post.

  2. Eugenia says:

    Your daughters are very beautiful! What a lovely skirt and such a great idea for a first project – it has turned out wonderfully well. Thanks for sharing the pictures of your breathtaking scenery.

  3. Tanit-Isis says:

    The skirt is totally cute—and that quilting thing is amazing.

    I need to get my kids working a bit more independently on their own stuff 🙂

  4. Mom says:

    I am a disgrace as a sewing mother, Karen. Sorry about that. I think with six girls I figured you would all decide for yourselves. That is pretty much how I was raised and I just passed that do what you want thing along. But you do it so well and you have done it all on your own. It seems like you are having a good time with your daughters. The skirt that Audrey made really is amazing and so feminine and totally neutral. Way to go Audrey, and I love Grace’s quilt. I bet she loves it too.

  5. Carolyn says:

    Your daughters’ creations are just beautiful! They are lucky to have a mother willing and very able to pass on you skills to them…
    And it is worth it. Even though my daughter went through a “teenager” stage where she did not want to wear different stuff from her peers, she has returned to wanting to express her creativity once again. And you are right, it makes for Fabulous mother-daughter time!

  6. Bernice says:

    Looks like everyone in your family are proudly posing their new skirts and rightly so. They all look fabulous.

    I really like your jacket – especially when open. The back view does look amazing.

  7. Sherry says:

    What fun sewing with your daughters! The skirt is really cute, a great beginner project because it is not a plain skirt like beginner projects usually are.
    The kindergarten quilt is a wonderful idea – a treasure in years to come!
    Flathead lake looks beautiful and reminds me of my hometown in the Southern Lakes district of NZ with the stones and snow-capped mountains!

  8. zilredloh says:

    That skirt is so cute! She did a great job. 🙂

  9. I LOVE that skirt! I saw a girl at the grocery store the other day wearing a tiered skirt that I’ve been coveting – this is perfect!!

  10. Camille says:

    adorable skirt! I am jealous of my niece she looks so amazing! Good job teaching your awesome skillz Karen!

Leave a Reply

