From Pillowcase to Paperbag Skirt

I was at the local thrift store the other day looking for some belts when I saw this in the pillowcase area

I love yellow, I love stripes, and me made June has made me realize I have a great need for more items to wear on the bottom half of my body.  I thought “why not make a skirt out of a pillow case”.  Before I bought it I had to do some very technical measuring that involved holding the pillow case up to my front and then my back to make sure I had enough fabric to fit around me.  I got a few strange looks from other shoppers as I did this.  This is the conversation I imagine as they went out to their car

“Hey Thelma, did you see that girl trying to wear a pillowcase?” 

“I sure did Bob, I sure hope she has someone to take care of her”.

So deciding to ignore Thelma and Bob’s doubts I purchased my pillowcase and took it home.  I have been wanting for a while to attempt a paper bag waist skirt.  I started by cutting off the bottom so my legs would have somewhere to go, already the pillow case was drastically improved :).  Next I unpicked about 11 inches of the side seam and put in a seven inch zipper (the zipper ends at the waist line leaving the “paper bag” top of the skirt open with a hook and eye).  Next I measured the width and subtracted my waist measurement.  This left me with 14 extra inches.  So I divided that up and added 4 pleats on the front and 2 on the back.  I pinned them all and tried it on, happy with the fit I sewed all the pleats an inch and a half long about 2 inches from the top.

It turned out perfect until I realized two inches at the top of the waistband for the paper bag effect was a bit too much.  So I unipicked it all and sewed it again one inch below the top of the pillow case.  This was much better until I looked at the back and lets just say bubble butt would have been putting it nicely, so I added a few darts right below where I had put the pleats in the back and the problem was solved!

So I love it so much and it is such a beautiful day out so my daughter and I went a little nuts with the pictures.

I don’t think love is a strong enough word for how I feel about this skirt.  It is light and comfortable, the colors just scream summer to me, it was cheap to make and I can wear it with heels or flats.  Hope you are all having as beautiful a summer day as I am with a cute skirt to enjoy it in!

COST:  1.25

TIME TO SEW:  2 1/2 hours (if I made it again I could probably do it in one since I figured it all out the first time)

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to From Pillowcase to Paperbag Skirt

  1. Sherry says:

    I love it too – so summery and unique!
    I will never look at a pillowcase the same again!

  2. Bernice says:

    Such a sunny colour. Looks nice with the white tee.

  3. That is super cute! I never would have thought to try that with a pillowcase, but it’s great!

  4. Meredith says:

    You should make an official tutorial for how to make this skirt…super cute!

  5. Melanie says:

    Karen, I love looking at your blog everyday to see what cute and fun things you have been doing. I have to say that in all the sewing I have done in my life I have never been as creative as you have been. Great job! The skirt look great, cool and light for summer and as always, it looks great on you!

  6. Eugenia says:

    Great job! I would never have guessed that this lovely looking skirt started its life as a pillowcase. I love the beautiful sunny yellow stripes.

  7. Pingback: Me Made June days 1-6 « montanachic

  8. Andrea says:

    Wow – this turned out so great. The style and colours are fantastic!

  9. Mom says:

    I love this skirt too…you are very creative and I love all your funny comments. Are you sure you weren’t a writer in another life. I wonder if Martha Stewart ever had moments like these?

  10. dixie says:

    awesome! I really like this skirt and the colors are great!

  11. Pingback: The end of Me Made June equals a pretty lame-o post « montanachic

Leave a Reply

