Knock it off!…. Drawing Parallels Skirt

I saw this skirt while stalking Anthropologie’s website and knew it would be a perfect summer skirt.

There were a few problems

  1. I don’t wear skirts shorter than my knee.
  2. I don’t like having summer skirts lined unless they are sheer.
  3. I don’t have a pink telephone to pose with.

So I decided to make my own.  I had a yard of linen/poly blend that I found at the thrift store for one dollar.  I gotta say I love the linen/poly blend idea.  You get the breathability of linen with the non-wrinkling of polyester.  I really do love the fuschia and yellow options Anthroplogie gives you, but I already had this fabric and the natural linen color will match everything.

Here is what I came up with.

Hmmmmm, does this skirt seem too long to you?

Have you ever made something, worn it for a couple of hours, thought it was fine, then seen a pic and just known it wasn’t quite right? I mean I knew when I started it wasn’t going to look exactly the same since I was adding quite a bit of length, but it just wasn’t quite there.  Problem was that I couldn’t just hem it more because then I would mess up the tuck placement which I do really like.  So I cut off the waistband about a 1/4 below the casing seam line then I cut off 1/2 inch from the top of the skirt and sewed it all back together with 1/4 inch seam allowances effectively shortening it 1 inch.  Does it look better…

before

after

So am I just being crazy that I think it looks so much better, because I do think it looks tons better.  Can an inch make that much of a difference or am I just telling myself it does because I did all the work to make it that way?

I worked with gromets for the first time on this skirt.  They really aren’t that hard to insert as long as you have a hammer, concrete floor, and some needle nose pliers.  It was one of the details I really liked about this skirt.

I couldn’t get my waistband to look quite like theirs.  Somehow theirs seem stiffer.  I don’t know if my fabric is too thin or if they just have a fuller skirt, but it is a minor detail.  I really like this skirt.  It is going to make Me Made June a lot easier now that I have a neutral-goes with anything-summer skirt.

Time to make:  I forgot to time myself but I am guessing 2 hours.

Cost: 1.75

This entry was posted in bottoms, Knock It Off!. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Knock it off!…. Drawing Parallels Skirt

  1. Shannon says:

    This skirt looks gorgeous! You did such an awesome job of knocking off the Anthropologie skirt. You are right about the length, too- it looks just right where it hits your knee now. And are those pink shoes? So cool!

  2. SewOm says:

    I agree with you – that 1 inch off does make it look better.

  3. Eugenia says:

    Your skirt is beautiful. And you are absolutely right – the 1″ makes all the difference – it’s perfect!

  4. Such a pretty skirt! I can see the difference the1 inch made. Good idea to shorten the skirt from the top instead of the hem.

  5. Camille says:

    Karen the 1″ shorter does look so much better! I love this skirt. I love the paneling folds as well, good job! again I am AMAZED!

  6. Rebecca Howard says:

    You’re absolutely right. The shorter version has changed it from a nice skirt into a great skirt! I think the waist treatment is different though. The anthropolgie is wider and yes, I think stiffer. Maybe they put stiff interfacing inside but then, how did it gather up nicely? Yours looks good anyway so don’t worry.

  7. Caroline says:

    Yes, one inch can make a huge difference! I agree, it is alot better in the second version. Just being able to see one’s knees makes the lower half … shapelier?

  8. Sophia says:

    I’m completely with you that just a little bit makes a difference. It’s like there’s this magical length between right below your knee caps and right above that makes you go from frumpy to chic. Love the skirt, it turned out so well and it looks perfect for the summer.

  9. TanitIsis says:

    Wow, that is a totally amazing inch! It looks great. I think the original has some fairly substantial elastic inside the waistband filling it out, and maybe some interfacing, too.

    Love it!

  10. Andrea says:

    You’re not crazy. That one inch totally makes a difference and I love the finsihed product. And love your pink shoes too – much better than the model’s pink phone 🙂

  11. Melanie says:

    Love the skirt – looks great on you and will go with anything. I’m wondering if they put a stiff, wide elastic in the waistband and then just put the tie between the two groments in front and not around the waiste. Does that make sense?? Great Job!!

  12. dixie says:

    Love the tucks on this skirt. gorgeous! And the 1in really does make a difference. I agree with Andrea and Melanie – I think the anthro skirt actually has some 1.5″ (maybe more) elastic in the waist and I think the ties might just be there to look pretty.

  13. Bernice says:

    I think shortening it has made a huge difference. It’s moved it from frumpy to chic. I love the tucks in this skirt. The waistband is interesting too. Definitely a good ‘basic’ addition.

  14. Amy says:

    You have a knack for knocking off garments. I clicked over here after you were kind enough to comment on my skirt, and you nearly blew me away. Your pleats look perfect! And, the shorter length looks great. It was definitely worth the extra time to redo the waistband.

  15. Mom says:

    I agree with the above comments…the waistband looks to be about 1 1/2 inches wide with interfacing and or elastic with the ribbons attached inside. the skirt is gorgeous and I love the light color because you can really see the pleats. Great job!

  16. Pingback: Me Made June, Days 7-13 « montanachic

  17. Pingback: The end of Me Made June equals a pretty lame-o post « montanachic

Leave a Reply

