Me Made June, Days 7-13

JUNE 7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RTW jeans

McCalls 5936 Jacket

I made this jacket in the fall, I always have a conflict with it because I love the pelum but I needed to take out some fabric at the bottom of the back to get rid of the bagginess.  It was also a PAIN in the you know where to match all the plaids.

JUNE 8

RTW jeans

Self Drafted J Crew like top

JUNE 9

RTW jeans and sweater

McCalls 5186

I thought this vest would just be trendy when I made it, but after wearing it a few times I think it is going to have more longevity than I thought it would.  On a side note today is my kids last day of school.  Do you like my last day of school sweater…. I mean really why is it so cold I am wearing a sweater on the last day of school!!!!!

JUNE 10

Self Drafted Drawing parallels skirt

Self drafted top

JUNE 11

Simplicity 2580

This dress was one of my first forays into sewing with knits.  It is about two years old.  I like the fit and it is super comfy,  but well… the ruffle finish is getting a little old.  I did it because I had messed up so many knits with a bad hem (this was all before I discovered the twin needle which is a must for hemming knits).  So I am thinking of putting on a normal hem and taking off the sleeves then wearing it with a turtle neck and tights in the fall.  What do you all think, should I leave it or change it?

JUNE 12

McCalls 5975

Comfortable and flattering, too bad it is out of print :(.

JUNE 13

RTW jeans

Two piece tunic

I will admit I this is an old picture but honestly the sun wasn’t shining yesterday and I knew I would be spending the evening at a probably rainy ball park so I really didn’t want to do my hair.  This is the outfit I wore.

Well we are almost halfway through Me Made June.  It really has been a lot easier than I thought.  I am getting sick of all this cold rainy weather we have bean having.  I want to wear my summer skirts and dresses!

 

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Me Made June, Days 7-13

  1. Andrea says:

    Love your outfits. And I hear you loud and clear about the weather – it’s been the same in Toronto. So much for the predictions of a dry summer because it’s been far from it.

  2. Tanit-Isis says:

    Great overview—I need to do one of those (shudder!)

    I love the short-sleeved plaid jacket, but I feel you on the back-bagginess. Don’t you hate it when something you otherwise love has that one nagging fit issue?

    I like the lettuce-edged dress (june 11) as is, but feel free to change it up if you think you’d be more likely to wear it. I find with really stretchy knits even the twin-needle doesn’t work really well (or doesn’t hold up after the fact), at least on my machine… 😛

  3. dixie says:

    Great job on all your garments! Especially the plaid jacket! Plaids are such a pain but yours looks perfect!

    What if on the brown knit dress you trim off the ruffle edge (maybe if you let the dress sit for awhile the fabric might go back towards its normal shape. I don’t know. I’ve never done a ruffle edge and then cut it off). Then do another rolled hem but without stretching to make the ruffle? That way you could at least save the sleeves. Does that make sense?

    I’m kind of opposite with the weather. Is it SO HOT that if I go outside to set up the cam I immediately start sweating. Not good. And then I don’t smile in my pictures because all I’m thinking about is how hot it is and how much I want to get inside into the A/C and not come back out until after dark.

  4. Mom says:

    I love the ruffle edge knit dress. It is so different from all your other things. I just think it needs bronze jewelry, shoes, hose. But is is so flattering and feminine and sexy. My two cents.

  5. Amy says:

    Really like that peplum jacket – so cute and spring-like!

  6. Camille says:

    hey what does RTW mean for your jeans? I love everything! I love my grey dress that looks like your maroon one. it is one of my faves and the best thing I have ever made/help make 🙂 I want your pillow case skirt. like I really want it. love you sis!

  7. I love so much of your work but the brown knit dress is my favorite. You have a great bod and the dress shows it. Love all your sewing, though.

Leave a Reply

