my big fat FAIL

Well it was my birthday yesterday so I thought last Saturday that I would make myself a simple easy birthday dress.  I had bought this pattern for view C a while back because I saw someone make it on their blog and it was cute with a belt (sorry I can’t remember whose blog that was), I had always been reluctant to buy it in the past because of the obvious…  it would make me look like a flying squirrel.

It did look really cute on this blog all belted and stylish.  So I had two yards of a jersey knit I found at the thrift store so I thought to better use all my fabric I would make it into a summer dress.

I really should have never bought the pattern.  Whoevers blog I saw it on probably had a different body type than me because it just looked a little odd on me.  I mean it was okay, but not really good, you know what I mean, even my husband agreed and he is usually deathly afraid of telling me he doesn’t like anything I make for fear that I will run crying from the room and hide under my bed with the Costco ten pound bag of chocolate chips for a week forcing him to make dinner, do the laundry, and try to explain to the children that mommy just needs some alone time but she still loves them.

Anyway up to this point it was okay but not great.  Then I made my first big mistake, I serged the facing to the neckline with my three year old literally hanging on my back.  Now I often sew with her on my lap and while it isn’t easy it is doable.  Not so with her hanging on my back.  So I serged out a chunck of the neckline then evened it up.  Then the neck was way to low so I took in the shoulders to raise it.  At this point the dress became too short and since I had been working with a limited amount of fabric I hadn’t cut it longer like I usually do.  So here are the grand results.

I guess the picture looks okay, but it is too short and I don’t quite know what to do with the ruffles and the belt, it is just one of those things that even if the length were good I would always be fiddling with it and feeling self conscious.  Here I am doing my flying squirrel impersonation.

The silver lining to it all is that my 11 year old loves the dress, squirrel ruffles and all, and since it is belted it looks really pretty cute on her.  So it wasn’t a total waste of my time.

This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to my big fat FAIL

  1. melissa says:

    Before I got to the bit about it’s rehoming, I was going to suggest turning it into a top and just trimming a bit off the side frills so they taper nicely to the new hem. But it sounds as though the recipient is happy enough so you just need to move on and consider lessons learned. At least it wasn’t an expensive fabric!!

    I hope you had a happy birthday anyway!

  2. Tanit-Isis says:

    Ok, first off, flying squirrels are adorable and so are you. And I like how it looks in the belted photo (although we all have our own definitions of ‘too short’ so I won’t go into that 😉 )

    I’m glad your daughter likes it, too. We’ve recently entered the perilous territory where anything I’m looking to get rid of, Tyo (who will be eleven in a month and a half) has to go through to see if she wants to claim it. I’m not sure which is worse, seeing her tromping around in stuff I just want gone, or when she looks way better in it than I ever did…

    And it’s just going to get worse, I know…

  3. Tanit-Isis says:

    Oh, yes, and happy birthday!!!!

  4. Andrea says:

    Mmm… I don’t think it looks bad when belted (and I’m not just saying that because of the bag of chocolate chips!) but you’re the one who has to feel confortable and enjoy wearing it. If this is not the case you can always score brownie points with your 11 year old, right. Happy birthday!

  5. dixie says:

    I’ve had serger take out chunks of my fabric before, too. When I saw the pic I didn’t think it was a fail at all! Belted it looks great! I think you could wear it with the ruffles pulled to the center like in the pic or just however they want to lay.

    Do you have any fabric left at all? could you make a bottom ruffle in a similar style to the sleeves?

    Happy b-day!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    The flying squirrel pics…LOL.

  7. Adrienne says:

    I actually like the dress and would wear it belted. It looks great!

  8. melissa says:

    i think it looks cute belted, id cut it to a t shirt length.

  9. melissa says:

    which pattern was this by the way?

  10. I don’t think you look like a flying squirrel at all. It’s rather cute, actually. However, I know what you mean about hating to wear clothes you’re constantly fiddling with.

    Happy birthday!

  11. zilredloh says:

    Happy Birthday!

    As I was reading this I was thinking to myself that it would make for a cute tunic with the belt and jeans if you just shortened the hem. But it sounds like it works good as-is for the new, happy recipent.

    But honestly, it didn’t look that bad on you at all, imo. 🙂

  12. Mom says:

    I like it too! I just think you should use a belt that is not so heavy. Maybe a straw belt for a lighter more summery look. and when I saw the pattern I thought you would make the top with the wide band and then just add a slight flared skirt so that the band was dividing the top and bottom and no belt. Actually I have been looking for a pattern just like that top. I saw it made in a magazine in kelly green silk like fabric and they should it with a white pencil skirt made in a sateen fabric and used a thin, gold belt, at the waist.

  13. Sophia says:

    It’s a cute dress, but I know what you mean about the ruffles. I haven’t really found a pattern with any type of ruffles yet that looks good on me. It’s such hit or miss. Glad you were able to give it to your daughter so she can get some use out of it.

  14. stephanie says:

    Love this post, youre are so funny!! I like that color on you!

  15. Pingback: Simplicity 2599, or I will soon be giving birth to orange ruffles. « montanachic

Leave a Reply

