Like the seam of my shirt dress, ME MADE JUNE begins to unravel…

So I have had a bad week.  It began last Saturday with my failed-for-me-great-for-my-daughter-flying-squirrel-dress.  That wasn’t so bad, I had vented but I was ready to recover and sew something cute and summery ( was going to make something I had done before so I could boost my confidence a little).  Then on Sunday the stupid, annoying, #@%$#@ migraine hit!  Yes I am one of the many unlucky people out there who get migraines.  I am lucky in that mine aren’t debilitating.  I rarely get vision disturbances, and the pain is bearable, I can still do all the things I need to.  The hard part is that they can last.  So ya my week went like this

  • Sunday- migraine
  • Monday- migraine (on my birthday no less!)
  • Tuesday- migraine
  • Wednesday- migraine
  • Thursday- migraine

So Thursday evening it finally stopped hurting and I come out of it to a messy house I need to clean, piles of laundry, and not a stitch sewn.  The upside of it is that luckily these long ones only happen once or twice a year, and as crappy as I feel I do feel really loved.  My husband and children were so nice and understanding, trying to keep things clean and keep the loud three year old quiet and happy.  Anyway I kind of kept up on me made june, but it wasn’t very fun.  If I wore something I already had pictures of I didn’t bother to take another pic.

JUNE 14- no picture, or even memory of what I wore.

JUNE 15 and 16 me made items- skirt, peasant blouse, recycled sweater, me made belt.

JUNE 17 and 18 me made items- white jeans

JUNE 19 and 20 me made items- both dresses

JUNE 21 and (22 & 23 no picture) 24 me made item- recycled shirt and shirt dress.

To end the week as it started my shirtdress decided to split down down the back center seam which was frustrating because the fit was good, but the fabric was weak.  It split the day I made it so I tried adding interfacing to the seam and topstitching, but it split again.  So sometime next week I should have a turquoise linen button down skirt.  So ya, not the most successful or inspiring week, I guess it is just up from here…. right?

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Like the seam of my shirt dress, ME MADE JUNE begins to unravel…

  1. Crap, that sucks. Migraines are awful. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  2. Mom says:

    Yeah, sometimes you are just along for the ride and cannot wait to get there! Sorry about the headache, Karen.

  3. zilredloh says:

    Ugh, I’m so sorry. It sounds like you had a really rough week.

    Glad to hear you’re better at least. 🙂

  4. Kay says:

    I came here from SEWN after reading your take on MeMade months. Sorry to hear about your migraine.

    I had migraines from 9th grade and so understand what you must be going through. I have been seeing a chiropractor for 2 yrs now and my headaches have got a lot better. less severe and less frequent. Maybe that might be something for you to think about.

  5. Meredith says:

    I love the recycled sweater! Is there a tutorial for that? Do you have to live in a freezing place to pull that off?:)

  6. Camille says:

    Karen just have to say your body is ROCKIN! You look Amazzzing. And Btw I love the pic where you are sitting on the steps, it is like a senior picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

