The Making of A Bedroom part 1: The Hot Pink Chandelier.

My eleven year old daughter is really an amazing kid.  She is responsible, smart, works hard, and rarely talks back.  If you don’t have children let me assure you this is a pretty great feat for an 11 year old.  She has been wanting to decorate her room for years but I have held off until we could put my youngest two in the same room and give her her own room.  Well we finally did it this summer and told her she could pick everything out for her own room.  So of course being the neurotic crafter/cheep scape that I am I have felt compelled to make everything myself.

The colors she picked are aqua for the walls and hot pink and bright yellow for accents.  I told her I was going to need to wear sunglasses to enter her room.

Before her room had a very small globe fixture with one light in it.  Not  alot of light for a basement room.  In the interest of not spending a lot of money I picked up this light fixture at the thrift store for 6.25.

When I showed it to my daughter she looked at me like I was crazy until I showed her the can of hot pink spray paint.  So a couple of hours later we were ready to hang this.

The paint is actually a little bit darker, but you get the idea and she LOVES it.  It looks great against the aqua paint and adds so much more light to the room.  So 6.25 for the fixture and 10 for paint and a few missing hanging supplies gives us a great looking custom light fixture for 16.25!

This entry was posted in home dec stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Making of A Bedroom part 1: The Hot Pink Chandelier.

  1. Andrea says:

    The fixture looks great – hooray for thrifty success!

  2. stephanie says:

    Really awesome!!! I love it!!!

  3. Melanie says:

    Amazing Karen! It doesn’t even look like the same light. I learn so much from you everytime you do something. Can’t wait to see the entire room when you are finished. You know I wish you were still close by so you could help me with all my “wish list” items. Great job!!!

  4. Tanit-Isis says:

    What an awesome refurbish on the light! Go you!

    My eleven-year-old is the most amazingly outgoing, warm, caring person I know, but we also butt heads more than anyone else I know ;). Enjoy yours! (And here’s hoping all that good stuff survives the teen years… for both of us)

  5. Anonymous says:

    You are a really cool mom and an amazing thrifty girl.
    Jasmine wanted her room “melon” – all orange baby – it was a lot!

    But if we can’t make their little space their own, what can we do for our kids who are so great to us!?

  6. Anonymous says:

    Such a nice job, Audrey. Good choices for your fun own girl room. I should have been so astute. Thrifty is king and makes everyone more relaxed and great at problem solving. Way to go Audrey and Karen.

  7. Mom says:

    PS…..are you going to put globes on the light fixture or hang beads on it or anything extra. I like the sleekness, but I can see bling too…

Leave a Reply

