The Making of A Bedroom part 3: The giant yellow bean bag chair.

While designing this room for my daughter I knew I wanted some sort of chair for her in the room, but I of course wanted to spend as little money as possible.  It also needed to be something super comfy and fun.  So really the bean bag chair was the perfect answer.  After watching a million videos on making bean bag chairs on you tube we were ready to go.  This is about as easy a project as you can get and depending on your fabric choice pretty cheap too.

Your pattern piece is pretty much a wedge that you put on the fold of the fabric.

Based on what I read/watched I made my wedge 20×30.  I cut out six of these wedges.  Unfolded they looked somewhat like this.  When you unfold it it is 60 inches long by 20 inches wide.  The whole idea being that when you sew six together you have a circle.

So sew three together then the other three together so you have to halves of a ball.  Then sew one side together and part of the other.  To fill mine I called around to a bunch of local home decor stores and asked if anyone had styrofoam packing peanuts they were throwing away that I could have.  People were more than generous and I got tons, which was good because I needed tons to fill it.  Filling it was a huge mess.  We got our peanuts in a box and they got all over when we dumped them in and let me tell you that stuff does NOT like to be vacuumed up.  If I were doing it again (which apparently I will be because now my other three children want one) I would transfer the peanuts from the box into a large garbage bag outside then stick the open end of the garbage bag deeply into the bean bag chair and dump it that way.  After you fill it either sew it up, or if you want you can do a zipper.  Also fill it a lot fuller than you think because after a while the peanuts will squish down.  We had to add more to ours a week later.  So here it is.

My daughter LOVES it!  I gotta admit I have spent some time in it too and it is soooo comfortable.  We used yellow fleece to add to the comfort factor.  I think we needed 3 1/2 yards to do the whole thing.  If I was doing it again I think I would make it wider so it spreads out a little more.  Here is another picture to give you an idea of the scale.

My three year old thinks that this chair belongs to her.  If you go near it when she is in it she yells “you aren’t the boss!” which we have learned means “stay out of my chair or I will scream so loud all the windows in the house will shatter”.  Any way as you can see the chair is huge she swims in it and I as an adult am very comfortable in it.    So all in all this was an easy, cheap, fun, comfortable project that already has gotten a lot of use.

Cost: 15 dollars which is amazing cause if you look for these on etsy in this size they will run you 100 dollars.

Time to Make: 1 1/2 hours

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Making of A Bedroom part 3: The giant yellow bean bag chair.

  1. Sarah says:

    This is all sorts of crazy awesome!! I love it! May I bug you with a question? How did you sew up the end points, i.e. did you sew a little circle piece like you see on store-bought ones?

    Love it so much!

    • montanachic says:

      I so forgot to put that, I just sewed two circles on the ends over the points. This was one of the nice things about using fleece because it doesn’t fray so I could just cut a circle and sew it on there. I have heard that if you cut circles in any fabric they won’t fray because of the bias but I have never tried it.

      • Sarah says:

        Awesome, thanks! Sounds easy! We’re redoing my babes room hopefully this fall and she is SO getting one of these. Yours is so big and yellow and inspiring 😀

  2. Meredith says:

    Awesome! What a fun project and fun mom you are.

  3. Mom says:

    Love it a lot! Nice work…..I remember doing projects with you kids when you were all growing up, but I don’t know that they were all this much fun. Kudos to you and Audrey for such a fun, hip room.

  4. Uta says:

    What a fun project! I love the yellow, and I love how you girl gets lost in it.

  5. Steph says:

    This post is awesome! You are so creative! I don’t know how you even think this stuff up 🙂

  6. jessica says:

    Brittan looks a lot like Alisa in this pic!

  7. Kiera says:

    This features only half the trademarks of the first, lacks the extra tall stem sprinkler and fine cutlery
    tray. But with the good comes the bad and despite their wondrous convenience, they do a great job of making dish cleaning much
    simpler, dishwashers in fact consume a great deal of energy and use substantial amounts of water.
    99 available at Sears, K-Mart, The Great Outdoors and Lands End.

  8. Pingback: The Petal Top | MontanaDesigns

  9. 571 zoar church rroad
    Salemburg NC. North Carolina 28358585.
    Ms Wendy s butler
    Brandon butler910990575
    BBrandontoot96@gmail.cousdecom
    Usder big bean bag chair now
    Mail go 89148000000836353473
    082213

  10. 571 Zoar church Rd
    Salem burg nc 283585
    Ms Wendy sue butler
    P.o box 571
    0551062419771246734
    Ms finisher

Leave a Reply

