The Making of A Bedroom part 5: An amazing bed and it is finally all done!

We were wide open for bed possibilities in this room, because all we really had was a mattress.  When we moved here a year and a half ago the movers broke our captains bed in one corner.  As Tim Gunn says we had been making it work, but it was really time to go before it all fell apart while someone was sleeping in it.  I have for a long time stalked Ana-White.com but had never quite been brave enough to try to make something myself.  When I saw this bed I knew my daughter would go nuts for it, and she did.  We changed it a little bit from the dimensions on the web site.  We made ours a little wider and longer, plus we used 2 x6’s instead of 2×4’s on the bottom so it was a little deeper.  Then I got two dollars worth of scrap trim from our Habitat for Humanity restore and chopped it up into all different sizes and then used some liquid nails to cover the 2×6’s.  This gave it a bit of texture.  My daughter decided that it must be bright yellow, and I mean bright.

My husband tied some mean boy scout knots to hold it up (knew those scouting skills would come in handy some day).  I knew this whole bed was meant to be when I found rope at Lowes with the exact shade of pink we had been using in the room woven into it.  This bed was also cheap.  I had a bunch of 2×4’s left over from the room we added in the basement last year so I only spent 35 dollars for any other supplies I needed (wood, paint, rope, bolts for hanging and paint).  We used her old quilt and just turned it over to the white back side.  This was perfect since there is so much color on the bed already then we made a simple hot pink throw out of fleece and flannel to put on the end of the bed for some color and to keep her extra warm throughout the winter.

Close up of the easy and cheap trim detail.

If I was going to make this again I would cover the top with 1×2’s instead of 2×4’s.  I like the slated look, but this bed is heavy.  We made sure when we hung it that it could hold over 900 pounds.  We also made sure to get the bolts in the ceiling in the exact center of the studs.  I also taped some foam on the side of the bed next to the wall so we don’t loose too much paint when it accidentally hits the wall.  This bed is sooo fun.  It is nice to read a book on it while it is swinging gently (yes I may have done that while she was at school).  Here is the rest of the room all done and put together.

My daughter made the paper mache swan last year in school, I thought it fit pretty well in the room.

My daughter loves doing origami so we got some paper in the right colors and she folded a lot of butterflies and flowers to hang on her wall behind her bed.

We even painted her old picture frames in the bright yellow and used curtain fabric for the mat.

So the room is done and she loves it. We had so much fun doing this together and because we tried to use as much stuff as we already had it was super cheap.

total cost: 143.45 and that includes everything!

This entry was posted in home dec stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Making of A Bedroom part 5: An amazing bed and it is finally all done!

  1. Uta says:

    The bed is fabulous, and the whole room is so wonderful. Your daughter is a lucky girl!

  2. Camille says:

    Karen are you kidding me? This bedroom is amazing! How did you do it for that cheap — it is almost unbelievable. But yes you are very thrifty. I love it and I am so happy for Audrey, she did a great job picking colors. I can’t wait to see what you do for your other kids. and P.S. I want a bed like hers!

  3. stephanie says:

    I love it!!! Makes me excited for when my girls get older to do cute stuff like this!! I might need your help though 😉 good job to you and great job to the designer, Audrey 🙂

  4. Tsu Dho Nimh says:

    I like the salvaged look the trim gives it

  5. meli88a says:

    This is awesome. I would have loved a bed like that when I was growing up… Lucky girl!

  6. Mom says:

    Wow! and Double Wow! Great job. Love the colors…..they really shine through.

  7. Andrea says:

    The room looks fantastic. What a great bonding experience you and your daughter! I want one of those beds for myself but am not sure I’ll be able to convince my husband….

  8. Melanie says:

    WOW – Love it!! Can’t wait to see it in person. It doesn’t even look like the same room. I’m sure Audrey will love spending time in her “own space” now. Don’t blame her! The colors are amazing. Great job, Well done!!

  9. Mom says:

    I would love one of those beds on my patio if I had a patio cover. And forgive me, but I do think you should paint the ceiling some sort of lime green. The white ceiling looks a bit unfinished I think when you are using so much fun color in a room. I painted a ceiling a pale-ish periwinkle blue with jade green walls once in a bedroom and really loved it a lot.

  10. MadeByMeg says:

    LOVE this room! I also have a thing for chandeliers, and yours is great.

  11. Jamie Miller says:

    Any problem with the rope moving at all?? I love this and thinking on getting my DH to do it 🙂

  12. Anonymous says:

    how much did it cost?

  13. I think that is among the so much significant information for me.

    And i am satisfied reading your article.
    However should statement on few normal issues, The site taste is ideal, the articles is in point of fact excellent
    : D. Good job, cheers

  14. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  15. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever
    work and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve you guys to my own blogroll.

  16. Laurie S. says:

    I love this bed! I want to make one for my son, I know he’ll go crazy for it. One question…have you had any issue with the mattress moving around on the platform? Like, as she gets in/out of the bed, having it slide to one side or the other? I know mattresses seem to do that on boxsprings….just wasn’t sure if this was an issue.

    Thanks for posting this!!

  17. Pingback: 25 More Teenage Girl Room Decor Ideas - A Little Craft In Your Day

  18. Pingback: 15 Magestic DIY Upgrades For Girl’s Bedrooms

  19. Pingback: 15 Magestic DIY Upgrades For Girl’s Bedrooms | Prepper's Survival Homestead

Leave a Reply

