The last summer dress…. or the first fall dress.

When I made New Look 6022 (blogged here) last month I knew I wanted to make a casual version of it because one it was really cute, and two it was really easy.  A couple of months ago my mother in law brought me a box of plaid fabrics (thanks Melanie!) so I decided to use some of it up but to make it a little different, because apparently I can’t just do things the simple way and follow the pattern as is, I decided to make it on the bias.

I think I am kind of in love with this pattern.  I can’t decide if I like my casual version better or my dressier version, but either way I will wear them both a lot.  I like that it is so simple to make, but has some great details in the neckline and the sleeves.

tucks in the neckline

There are tucks in the sleeve cap too and gathering at the bottom of the sleeve but I didn’t get a good picture of it.  I love this dress so much that I am going to do a Tim Gunn and “make it work” for fall.  I am thinking cable knit tights, a denim jacket and tall boots will do the trick.  Speaking of cable knit tights does anyone know a good place to get them, and by good I mean cheap.  They had some at target for 12 dollars, is it just me or does that seem like a lot of money for tights?  I realize that my years of sewing and not shopping combined with my frugal neurosis make me a poor judge of what one should actually pay for clothing so set me straight here people!  Anyway here is my “fall look” without the tights.

Total Cost- Free!  Fabric from mother in law and reused pattern.

Time to make- Probably about 2 hours since I had to be careful with my pattern lay out since I cut it on the bias.

This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The last summer dress…. or the first fall dress.

  1. Meredith says:

    I like the fall look! Perhaps you were made to live in Montana after all:)

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love it – I can’t imagine how great your closet is.
    One day you should take a pic of your closet organized with the items you made on one side and bought on the other side. I bet it would be impressive

  3. Mom says:

    I would check out tights at k mart, maybe cheaper; but then after you do all that checking you might just decide that they have become that essential ‘completer piece Stacy and Clinton talk about on wntw and just bite the bullet. haha…looks amazing. Love your outfits.

  4. toy says:

    so cute, I love it with the denim jacket and boots

  5. meli88a says:

    This is adorable. I love the idea of using plaid on the bias, it worked so well in this dress!

  6. prttynpnk says:

    so crisp and cool! The neckline is great…

  7. Louella says:

    Such a pretty and stylish dress on you!

  8. Chris says:

    This is really cute. And with all the colors in the plaid you have endless possibilities of changing the look. I love it.

  9. Andrea says:

    Gah…I love this dress. Both versions are lovely but this one is my favourite of the two. Sadly I can’t give advice on tights as I seldom wear skirts in the winter so I never buy them, but you’re right, this dress will look great with cable tights and those nice boots.

  10. Melanie says:

    Love the dress! So glad I gave the fabric to you because I knew you would put it to good use since my sewing days seem to have slowed down. And I’m sure I would never have thought to cut the dress on the bias. I love plaids on the bias!! Maybe in my younger, more creative life but now I barely get anything sewed – even easy stuff. Need anymore fabric, just call!!

  11. zilredloh says:

    This dress is lovely; it looks very chic and yet comfortable! I love the gathers/pleats at the neckline, too!

  12. That is one cute dress! It looks great on you! As for the tights, $12 doesn’t sound like a lot at all–especially if you want them to last. Cheaper tights generally don’t survive even one wearing…so, I’d splurge–especially for this dress!!

Leave a Reply

