It’s GAMESHOW time with butterick 5497

So I decided to make Butterick 5497 view C.  I really should have known better.  When  there is only a drawing on the front of the envelope you really don’t know what you are getting into.  So I decided I would make a muslin to be sure of sizing and fit since that can be tricky with knits.  So here is your gameshow question of the day.  Which shirt is the muslin?

If you are guessing that the one on the right is the muslin you would be WRONG!  Can you believe it, my muslin turned out better than my final copy.  The blue circle fabric is a very very thin rayon knit I got at fabric.com over a year ago.  It is so thin I have to wear a tank under the top because it is see through  even though it is such a dark color.  Anyway I made the muslin and did quite a bit of tweaking to get it to look right.  I had to take it in everywhere, including the sleeves.  So I thought I was good to go with my cream knit but man it did not work.  I know a big part of the problem was that I was just being a bit too sloppy, but besides that I think this pattern will only work well with a really thin knit.

So the blue version is hanging in  my closet where it will be worn a handful of times because I think this fabric will only hold up to a handful of washings and the cream version is bunched in a ball on the floor of my sewing room where I threw it in frustration after trying to fix it but only making it worse.

I am sad to loose the cream fabric, it only cost me three dollars off a clearance rack, but I really thought it would make a good “go with anything” shirt.  So if you have  a really thin knit you like go for it with this pattern, but for something thicker save your fabric for something else.

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s GAMESHOW time with butterick 5497

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Oh, rats, I hate it when that happens! (And yes, it’s happened to me, more than once.)

    I do think the blue version is cute, though—and maybe you can salvage the cream for a kids’ garment or something. I get attached to cheap fabrics all the time, too, especially when I know I can’t get more.

  2. prttynpnk says:

    I’m so glad you gave us this cautionary tale-hate that it didn’t work out, you look so Fab in it!

  3. Ginnie Wise says:

    I made this top once, too. My fabric was a bit thicker and seemed to work alright. Lots of recovery in the fabric, though, as it had a high lycra content. Maybe that’s the trick? Doesn’t matter much, as alas it was not really my style. It’s only been worn about 3 times. Eh, you can’t win ’em all, right? I do love your blue fabric, though! And I think this top really suits you!

  4. meli88a says:

    The blue one is really cute, but it’s too bad the white one didn’t work out.

  5. Andrea says:

    Oh, but the muslin is adorable! At least you only paid three bucks for the cream coloured fabric. And by the way, your hair look great all curly (like in the muslin photo).

  6. Louella says:

    Undeniably such nice looking tops! I would not think that your stunning creme top is a muslin.

  7. Carolyn says:

    Thanks for your pattern heads-up, it is so frustrating when a shirt doesn’t work out, particularly when you are anticipating a wardrobe staple! But the blue shirt is super cute and I hope it does last longer than a few washes. The fit is fabulous!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I love the blue top, in fact I would make it for me, as the line are just what I need for my body type. As for the fabric, this might be something to consider. When I was sewing a lot in my youth, when you bought a pattern, there was always a knit gauge on the back of the pattern that said something like….this amount of your fabric should stretch only this far and it had a black line that you used for stretching ability. If it under stretched or overstretched your fabric was basically not suitable. Not sure if this really addresses your problem, but hey, the top looks wonderful. Makes me wish I had a sewing machine! great job, Karen.

  9. Amy says:

    I totally understand about the illustration-only patterns… and knits can be so funny and misbehaving sometimes. I have a theory that bulkiness gets hidden in thin knits because they drape so much, but when sewing the same pattern in a weightier jersey, I almost need to go down a size.

  10. dixiediy says:

    I feel your pain. Sometimes knit patterns only work with a certain weight of fabric, know what I mean? Thanks for the tip!

    I think the blue shirt looks awesome! Lovely style for you. Maybe next time you make that pattern or another knit pattern by the same brand (since the sizing will be similar) you could try going down a size? Most commercial knit patterns tend to run big, I think. Maybe the smaller size will keep you from having to alter the fit so much.

  11. Dang, how frustrating! I would definitely have thought the white was the muslin! Well, at least the blue one is cute…

  12. Camille says:

    That blue one makes you look rockin! I have the fabric too so I know how thin it is but that shirt makes you look amazing and I love the fabric color and design it is a great go with anything shirt:) good job!

  13. Clio says:

    Oh man, that stinks. I’ve got this pattern in my stash too. Maybe it will stay in the stash…

Leave a Reply

