Simplicity 2151 in POLKADOTS!

A while back I saw this blouse designed by Kate Spade and FELL IN LOVE

I decided Simplicity 2151 view A was the way to go.  It had the full sleeves and the tie collar, plus I had been interested in trying one of their “Amazing Fit Tops” to see how the patterns were.  Fabric choice was a tricky one for me.  I was really torn between trying to find fabric just like the original or to go with something polka dotty in my stash.  Now there is nothing more frustrating than trying to find the perfect fabric and I wasn’t sure I wanted to go down that annoying road.  Plus I do have way to many polka dot fabrics in my closet already, what can I say I am a girl who can’t resist a polka dotted fabric.  So I decided I should make things easy and use a green and white polka dot that I bought last year.  This was also good because my stash fabric is cotton which is just more practical for my more casual (ie children always spilling food and other unmentionable things on my clothing therefore it needs to be very washable) lifestyle.  Lets just face it green looks way better on my than white any day.

This pattern was pretty good, I am really happy with how it turned out.  It comes with 4 different pattern pieces depending which cup size you need to cut out A-D.  I felt the pattern ran a little loose, which it does say it will, but I found myself taking it in all over because I like a closer fit.  The alteration tips in the pattern were nothing new to me, but if you were fairly new to constructing shirts it would be really helpful, I wish I would have had a pattern like this years ago when I was starting to learn how to fit my body.  So here is my top.

Now the problem with trying to make a look you have seen is that you will never look as good as the size zero model, mostly because I am not a size zero (and yes that is my blatant attempt to get comments/lies such as “you look even better than the model”, or “they should have hired you instead of the model”). 

Without the sweater

I am really happy with how the fit came out with this shirt.  I am glad I have gotten to a point with my sewing where I feel like I know what to do to make things fit really comfortably.  It is great to wear, it doesn’t pull on the arms, it isn’t too tight in the back, the buttons close perfectly.  After too many failures this summer it feels nice to get something right.

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Simplicity 2151 in POLKADOTS!

  1. Katie says:

    It looks amazing!! I love it in green, and it is super cute all of the ways you’ve styled it. Nice work!

    And yes, I do think you look better than that model. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    I would totally buy this blouse from you – so cute!

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Well, you have a winner here! Yours just pops more than the models- I like that green and grey alot more.

  4. Andrea says:

    Of course you look better than the model! Your new blouse is adorable and way more fun than plain black and white. Well done.

  5. Tanit-Isis says:

    It looks great—and you look like you’re having WAY more fun in it than the model.

    Never compare yourself to a model photo. Not unless you’ve had a professional shoot followed by a full photoshop touch-up the way she has. 😉

  6. zilredloh says:

    It’s lovely and looks gorgeous on you! Congrats!

    I wish I could find some polkadot fabrics in my neck of the woods! I have yet to come across a simple B&W polka dot fabric…Can you believe it?!

    Size zero-schmiro! You look lovely in your blouse! I’m quite envious of your pretty polkadotty-ness.

  7. Amy says:

    That Kate Spade look is so fun. I can relate to being inspired by very urban cool looks and then trying to adjust them to fit my lifestyle & climate (which is so very un-New York and in my case, Texas casual outdoorsy-ness). I love how you translated this blouse to you. Love the styling, too, with the sweater and belt and boots–chic!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Karen, you look wonderful. If you want to copy the look exactly you should have on your teal blue shoes and find a teal blue belt. Actually I have a teal blue suede belt that is too small for me but I am sending it to you and you can use that to get the pop of color like the model did with the red. I think I want to start sewing again! Love, Mom

  9. Anonymous says:

    Where do you find those pictures? Mom

  10. Angela says:

    Love it. The colour is fabu! And yes, you look like you’re more fun than the model.

  11. Love it, Karen! That color of green looks great on you. You did a fabulous job on this.

  12. Louella says:

    The polka dots and that luscious color on you is fabulous!

  13. poppykettle says:

    Love the shirt – but I love polka-dot anything! It even LOOKS comfortable, which is a huge win when it comes to shirts in my book!

  14. Eve says:

    I own this pattern and found it a little to dowdy for my taste. But seeing your fabulous blouse, I am truly inspired! it is way, way prettier than the pattern envelope!

Leave a Reply

