A Year In Review

2011 was a great sewing year for me.  I made 5 skirts, 3 pair of pants (including a wearable muslin), 9 dresses, 10 tops, 3 jackets, 6 home dec projects, 8 items for my kids (there is actually a lot  more I just didn’t blog about them all).  So I think a pretty well rounded sewing year.  I am a little heavy in the dress area, especially since the whole idea of this blog is that I want to learn to dress casual and chic at the same time.  I just really love dresses.  So here are the highlights and the not so highlights.

2011 MOST COMPLIMENTED ITEM

My fourty degree coat

This is BY FAR my most complimented garment ever.  Once I was walking through Costco and a girl about 10 feet away from me stopped a conversation she was having with someone, walked straight up to me, grabed my arm while staring me straight in the face, and said vehemently “I LOVE your coat” then walked away.  It was a little freaky but made me feel good all the same.  This coat took A LOT of time so all the compliments are really nice.  Plus I really love it and have worn it a bunch.

2011 BIGGEST DISASTER

The flying squirrel dress

Ya…. I really don’t like remembering this one, at least my daughter likes it.

2011 MOST PROUD I ACTUALLY MADE THIS ITEM

Self Drafted Jeans

I mean really SELF DRAFTED JEANS!!!!!!  If they weren’t jeans I would do some leg kicks while screaming “wooooooohoooooo, go me”!  I do love these things, they are comfortable and look good.  Now I need to make some in some other colors so that I can wear them without screaming at my children not to come within 5 feet of me.  Oh and thanks to a lot of bleach they are still white!

2011 PERSONAL FAVORITE

 

floral pencil skirt and ruffle blouse

I find it kind of funny that this year I have really tried to challenge myself with new sewing techniques and my favorite outfit consists of a blousy blouse and a simple pencil skirt.  It just goes to show the power of great fabric.

Anyway I will say as I went through all my posts for the year I am mostly happy with everything I have made and it all gets worn a lot, so in sewing land that makes it a great year.

My only sewing resolution for the new year will be to do it because I love it and have fun with it.  I hope you all have a great new year.  It has been fun “getting to know you all” through your blogs.  Thanks!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Year In Review

  1. Meredith says:

    Amaaaazing!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    You are my hero in many ways, now I’ve added one more to the list. Happy New Year!

  3. Pamela K. says:

    That was me by the way: Pame.

  4. Sherry says:

    Ooh I missed your coat post – and I would probably see you in the street and say the same thing – it’s totally gorgeous!!
    Happy New Year 🙂

  5. Sophia says:

    That coat is fantastic! I’m not surprised you get a lot of compliments. The blue dress picture makes me laugh (with your hands up like you’re about to fly away). Everything looks great, you should be proud of yourself!

  6. Thread Ov Metal says:

    Whoa!

    The coat IS stunning!

    And your jeans look perfect!

  7. dixie says:

    That is a pretty badass coat. And you already know how much I love those jeans. 😉

  8. Mom says:

    Perfect year in sewing for you; even the learning times are wonderful cause you know you won’t repeat the problem ever….sewing is life that. I love visiting with you Karen! You are special. Love, Mom

  9. Carolyn says:

    That coat is pretty gorgeous, I can easily see why it got so many compliments! I’m in awe that you self-drafted those amazing jeans, and your skirt and top ensemble is so fresh and feminine…

    Best wishes for a very creative and productive 2012!

  10. What a great year!!! I love that coat, too. I would stop a conversation to compliment it. And self-drafted jeans? I’m too afraid to try them even with a pattern! Have a wonderful 2012!

Leave a Reply

