Project Run and Play home sew along, the june bug dress remix.

I don’t post about it all the time, but I really do love sewing for my kids and do it quite often.  I don’t post it much because it is literally impossible for any of my children to take a normal picture.  I do love entering contests so when Project Run and Play announce that they were having at home sew along contests this time around I got pretty excited.  This weeks challenge is a pattern remix.  Specifically the june bug dress made my Jess over at Craftiness is not Optional.  I came up with my idea one night when I couldn’t sleep, isn’t that when all the best thinking is done.  I wanted something romantic with ruffles since I haven’t used my ruffler foot I got for my bday last year.  I also wanted to use some non traditional colors for a little girl so most of the dress is made of a dove gray with a little pink added because, well, she is a girl.  I also thought the pattern lended itself well to adding some contrasting fabric panels.  So here it is.

If they aren't wearing the dress they can't ruin the picture!

In order to bribe my very grumpy three year old to take pictures I had to offer her four things she covets but doesn’t get often… my makeup, my jewlery, my shoes and some ice cream.  Even then I didn’t get much time out of her. She was complaining about silly things like being cold.  I mean really it is only January in Montana.

I love how the ruffles on the collar and sleeve turned out.

I added some of the contrasting fabric to the sleeve for a little extra detail.  Plus I made the sleeve way poofier than the original pattern.

Why don't you tell me how you really feel.

It turned out pretty cute.  I made it with a circle skirt so she was really having some fun spinning in it before she got grumpy.  I am excited to see tomorrow what all the official contestants have done and I am already amazed at what people have contributed to the flikr group.

Also tonight Project Runway All Stars starts and I am so excited!  Normally I think “all star” reality tv is lame but these designers have serious talent and a lot of my favorites from past seasons are back.  It is like I am in a sewing entertainment dream world.  I love it because I am entertained and inspired at the same time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Project Run and Play home sew along, the june bug dress remix.

  1. Mom says:

    Great look on the dress. It actually looks feminine and I love the circle skirt. Have you tried putting a crinoline under it for fullness. Nice color combo….unexpected and not irritating, but pretty.

  2. I love the last picture! That is a lot of bribery, but the photos are very cute and the dress is stunning! Love the use of dove gray for a little girl.

  3. Oh. My. Word. Love. It’s just too cute…nuff said. =)
    Kristina J.

  4. Tanit-Isis says:

    It’s adorable! I love the two fabrics. And I would think any 3-year-old would be delighted over a circle-skirt.

    My kids are generally pretty happy to pose—they like nice pictures as much as dressing up—but it can be a bit hit-or-miss getting the attitude right.

    We had a day or two this week where we could’ve been outside like this (and another coming today, allegedly). I am starting to wonder whether we’ll get winter at all this year…

  5. Carolyn says:

    So cute! and such a lovely dress. I just love the indoor picture, she looks so pensive and pretty here 🙂

Leave a Reply

