The coolest item of clothing I have ever made for a boy

Well actually this is the only item of clothing that I have ever made for a boy.  So I guess logically that would make it the coolest, of course that would also make it the lamest thing I have ever made for a boy.  For this post though I am sticking with coolest because my 10 year old son loves it and 10 year old boys never, ever, ever care about clothing, TRUST ME.  Anyway the challenge for project run and play this week was sewing for boys and since I have never done it before I thought I would give it a try.  I don’t often sew for my son because one, he really doesn’t care, and two my sister has twin boys a couple years older than him so he has more clothes than he could ever wear.  So one night as I was laying in bed trying to sleep a great idea popped into my head, does anyone else get all their great ideas when they are falling asleep?  Anyway I digress, I had the idea to make him a shirt with a word search on it.  A while ago I found this website called puzzle maker where you enter all the words you want on your wordsearch then the website makes the wordsearch for you.  So I entered all of my sons favorite things ie. friends names, favorite subject, sports, books, etc. and made a puzzle.  Then I cut out some white muslin and pretreated it in a solution I found on this blog.  I tapped the paper to a piece of cardstock then printed the puzzle onto the paper.  Next I heat set it with my iron on low heat.  Then I found one of the many shirts my son has with a stain on the front of it and just sewed the fabric wordsearch onto it.  At this point it just looked like a shirt with a bunch of random letters on it.  So I pulled out my trusty red sharpy and circled a couple of the words and it was perfect!

He LOVES this shirt.  Right after I took the pictures he took it off because he didn’t want it to get dirty so he could wear it to school the next day, this from the kid who would wear his pajamas to school and not even notice, really I have to remind him to get dressed every day.  Then at breakfast this morning he said his neck hurt from staring down at his shirt and trying to find all the words.  It is even better because I didn’t tell him what all the words were so each time he reads it he knows there is something else I know about him that is special.  Sappy I know, but hey, that is motherhood :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The coolest item of clothing I have ever made for a boy

  1. Meredith says:

    Cool idea! You could market it on etsy, and it makes you an awesome Mom to boot.

  2. Uta says:

    That is so awesome! I love how happy he looks 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    What a nice surprise… I’d be all sappy too. It’s so wonderful when gifts are so obviously received and taken in as love!

  4. Rebecca says:

    That is a really, really great idea!! I just love it. Can I pinch the idea to use at school (I am a high school science teacher)?. Can I have some more details about how you printed the letters onto the fabric. Don’t quite get it. My son was exactly the same as far as clothes. So long as he had any sort of red shirt, and blue bottoms (trousers, boardies, whatever) he didn’t care. This went on till he was about 17. We went to Europe for a holiday and he was exposed to Parisien male fashion. Bammm – he now wears uber fancy clothes including scarves flung oh so casually around his neck!

  5. Meredith says:

    Look how happy he is! That is so sweet. And it’s exactly what you said: you’ve hidden little gifts for him to find one by one. I love it!

  6. dixie says:

    very cool! great idea! i bet all the kids at school will be trying to find words in his shirt!

  7. Tanit-Isis says:

    Aww, that’s super-sweet! I have no boys to sew for (except the husband) but I do love looking at the projects people come up with for them. Kind of a palate cleanser. 😉

  8. Mom says:

    definitely a home run! Out of the park for sure. This would be a great personalized gift idea. Karen, you are amazing!

  9. Kandra says:

    Way to go! His smile says it all! You both will cherish the memory long after the shirt is outgrown.

Leave a Reply

