Pretty Purple Pleats

I have really enjoyed sewing along with Project Run and Play.  It has motivated me to sew things I normally wouldn’t, but that I LOVE.  I think I see more kids sewing in the future.  I figure if I take pics of them all the time they will get better at standing still, right???  Anyway, this week was no exception, the theme is outerwear and I am in love with what I made.  There was a purple damask home dec fabric that I have been eyeing for a while, but for 20 dollars a yard it wasn’t going to happen.  Well for the outerwear challenge what can I say I caved.  The nice thing about sewing for kids is that you don’t need as much yardage.  A jacket for me would take about 2-3 yards, for my tiny 7 year old I only needed one yard.  So armed with my half off coupon I bought my one yard for 10 dollars and some cream fur to make a hat and muff out of.  I used some fabric I already had from my mom about a million years ago, and some buttons I got off a jacket on dollar day at the thrift store.  This is what I came up with.

PRaP has also challenged my pattern drafting skills.  I really enjoy making my own patterns, and doing it for kids is very forgiving.  Not as many curves to fit as us moms, or really old kids as I like to think of myself, or act, sometimes.

I decided to use pleats instead of just gathering the skirt.  There are pleats at the top of the sleeves, but I of course forgot to take pictures of them :(.

A view of the front pleats.

I figure if you are going to all the work of making a lined jacket you may as well make the lining cute, I thought the aqua polka dots were a nice whimsical contrast with the purple damask.  The hat and muff were soooo easy to make.  I made the flower on the hat by cutting randomly shaped petals out of a purple polyester then melting the edges, you can’t see it, but there is a large crystal button in the middle, I really need to get better at the whole picture taking thing.

I love this jacket, and the hat and muff.  I wish they were mine!  But she really loves them so that makes me really happy too 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pretty Purple Pleats

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Really pretty! I want one for me!

  2. Tanit-Isis says:

    Oh, it’s beautiful! I am really enjoying making stuff for the kids lately, too, and I love your PRaP projects! I suspect that a fabric like that would be one I’d have a hard time sacrificing to the smaller people, however… 😉

  3. Mom says:

    Dang Karen you are just plain awesome. I can feel your joy in your posts. Keep up the good work. The coat is adorable. Did you Scotchguard it for stains. Actually, Guardsman Protective Spray is the best. Everything will just bounce off the coat. It is amazing stuff. Any furniture store will have it or on line. My sofa is 14 years old and does not have any spots at all. Grace looks adorable too. Beautiful child.

  4. Pamela K. says:

    Gorgeous! have I mentioned you are my hero?

  5. Meredith says:

    Wow! Really, wow! Have you considered just marketing a line of super cute coats? You’re definitely over-talented in that area.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Karen, that is adorable and on such a cutie!! I don’t think I will sew for your kids anymore because what I make is just plain boring now. I am so impressed with your ability to create such cute things. Keep up the good work and when I am REALLY old and gray you can sew for me!! I wish I had the time a courage to create patterns like you do – simply AMAZING!!! Keep up the posts because I just love seeing what you are doing and seeing the kids as well.

  7. Uta says:

    So very pretty! Can’t show this DD, she’ll want a coat just like that! (I also love sewing for kids; you can use so much more color and whimsy, and their shapes are so much more forgiving…)

  8. Montana says:

    Oh my word, how adorable! Very well done 🙂

  9. Justine says:

    What a stunning coat! I Saw your project at Run & Play. i hope you stop by and link up Saturday at my sewing only link up.
    http://www.sewcountrychick.com

  10. Rachel says:

    congrats on your win !

  11. Andrea says:

    Um, I want me one of those. It’s beautiful!

  12. Pingback: WHAMPO STOMPO I AM EXCITED!!!!!!!!!, and a super random question « montanachic

  13. Emily says:

    Congrats on your win! Love the fabrics and the pleats and everything. I’d totally wear this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

