Audrey Hepburn + Givenchy = perfection, and project run and play special occasion dresses.

Have you ever seen the old movie Funny Face?  It stars Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire and as you would expect Audrey Hepburn is so sweet and Fred Astaire is so charming, but the reason you really need to watch the movie is for the clothing.  Givenchy designed some amazingly beautiful items for the movie.  You can see many of them here.  The one I used as my inspiration for the final Project Run & Play challenge was the wedding dress

Isn’t it beautiful.  I love how simple it is but that it has the subtle detail of the nipped in waist then skirt before the poofy skirt starts (do you like my technical description 🙂 ).  Now the challenge this week was to make something for a special occasion and I obviously don’t need a wedding dress for any of my daughters right now, but we do need some Easter dresses eventually so I decided to use this dress as my inspiration.  My other inspiration was a yellow and green stripped sheet I found at the thrift store.  My original thought was to make a dress with a green bodice and stripped skirt, but then I thought it would really be cute to have one dress with a green bodice and one with and yellow bodice, so ya it was a crazy week but I made two dresses.

curtsy lessons

These dresses are VERY poofy, really they stand up on their own.  I was going to use plain old white netting for the poofiness, but when I was at the store they had green and yellow netting and I just couldn’t resist.  The colors that matched were a different kind of netting called scrubby netting or something like that.  It is pretty much the stuff they use to made scrub poof things for cleaning bathtubs.  This stuff is stiff, it is GREAT for poofy skirts.

A little peak of the netting

I also added some contrasting piping along the sleeves and neck.

I also made elbow length gloves and yoyo hair clips.

These were SOOOOO easy to make, and cheap too.  If enough people leave comments asking me I will do a tutorial for them.

hair clip yoyos

So definitely not Givenchy, but my girls LOVE these dresses.  My three year old started crying when I told her she had to take it off and wait until Easter to wear it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Audrey Hepburn + Givenchy = perfection, and project run and play special occasion dresses.

  1. Uta says:

    These are amazing. Great job!

  2. Oh my goodness! Utterly adorable.

  3. Meredith says:

    I love the fitted bodice, but can it really be that easy?:) I’ll vote for a tutorial.

    I love the contrast yet matchy-ness…these girls are going to be quite eye catching on Easter.

  4. Emily says:

    Love the contrast piping and how full the skirts are. How lovely for spring!!

  5. steph says:

    Tutorial Please!! I want to know how to do that fitted bodice!

  6. Rachel says:

    you did a really good job of reproducing that design !
    I can’t believe you made the gloves ~ I’m impressed !

  7. Camille says:

    Love the inspiration! Audrey H. and Givenchy = Amazing! I vote for you to win – those dresses are fabulous.

  8. Anonymous says:

    So adorable. I have no skills for that, so admire yours and truly your creativing and thrift store inspirations!

  9. dixie says:

    those dresses are the cutest ever! and so are those girls! i would have loved such a poofy colorful dress like that as a kid.

  10. Caroline says:

    Love the co-ordination – gorgeous!

  11. Mom says:

    Hands down you win. I think you need to make one for you and Audrey too! Get busy. They are beautiful. I think it is called ‘Ballet Length”. And it was a really fun movie. I think Givenchy really did all of Audrey’s clothes through the years. Who wouldn’t want to dress her. Ecxept Cecil Beaton did her fab Victorian Gowns for My Fair Lady…..beautiful woman and clothes. Great job Karen and so fun and , oh here’s that word again, unexpected.

  12. Totally adorable! What fun dresses for little girls.

  13. Carolyn says:

    What adorable dresses and your girls look so pretty! I can easily understand why they would not want to take off their finery.

  14. jessica says:

    I think you need same top but pencil skirts for you and audrey…white dresses with the stripe just as an accent belt.

  15. Nicole says:

    Wow they are great….I’d love a tutorial!

  16. Kant Chander says:

    Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  17. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

  18. Stepper says:

    Where is the tutorial? I need it for Easter dresses this year. It took me forever to find this on Project Run and Play’s site, but I remembered seeing these dresses years ago and wanted to make these exact dresses for my girls. Great job.

Leave a Reply

