Fine sewing gods, I will make my own!

Well, originally the Project Run & Play at home sew along was supposed to end after the last challenge and only the final three official contestants would make their signature look to be voted on this week (they are currently on the page and you can go vote until Sunday night, and they are all AMAZING).  However the lovely ladies decided that they wanted all the at home sewists to make a signature look too!  They were even nicer by giving us all an extra week.  So apparently anyone who is interested has to have their signature look in the flikr pool by Thurday, February 16th at 8 pm (MST).  So since I am a competitive girl and I love any excuse to sew something cute for my little munchkin I am soooooo in.  So I have my plan in my mind and found a few of the perfect fabrics.  But since the sewing Gods are always out to get me there was one perfect fabric that I really really wanted but couldn’t find.  Now I know this happens to everyone, it happens to me all the time.  Usually in my efforts to thwart said sewing gods I find something else or move onto a different project until I find what I want.  This time I tried to find something else.  What I really wanted was a yellow polka dot heavier weight fabric to make a jacket out of.  The only thing I could find locally, I didn’t have time to look online, was black with polka dots.  It would have worked and I tried to make myself think it would be fine, but I just couldn’t make myself buy it.  Then today I had a big light bulb moment….  why not make my own design on the fabric.  So I started with this

and this

and then did this for a while

until I ended with this

Now all I have to do is let it dry over night and iron it upside down on low heat tomorrow.  And presto!  The perfect yellow polka dot fabric 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fine sewing gods, I will make my own!

  1. meredithburt says:

    Wonders never cease….I would have NEVER thought of that.

  2. dixie says:

    Very cool! I’ve never painted on fabric before, except for t-shirts and puff paint at elementary school, of course, Does the paint make the fabric hard? Does it really last very long?

  3. Mom says:

    Karen you will succeed at what ever you do! I rest my case based on the evidence of this project. Unique and fabulous! Love you!

  4. That is so interesting! I just bought these fabric stamps from India at a flea market to meke my prints too. I didn’t know about the PR&Play signature look today. I have been sewing along too but didn’t make anything. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

