Gray Jeans, and this is as skinny as I go.

For about six months now I have had this idea I couldn’t shake that I just HAD to have some gray jeans.  I don’t even think I saw them somewhere first either which is what usually happens I get fascinated with something.  I also had been wanting to continue to tweak my self drafted jean pattern I made last year and continue change a little every time I make them.

This brings me to my next thought, trends.  Are they good or bad?  I think a little of both.  My sister told me once a stylist said you should pick one trend per season and I think that is a great idea.  So last year I lost 10 pounds and I thought “great I can wear skinny jeans now”, guess what … I really can’t wear skinny jeans no matter how skinny I am.  My thigh to calf ratio just doesn’t work with it (disclaimer- I actually will wear skinny jeans but only with boots, NOT with flats or heels).  My husband even agreed with me, when I tried them on for him he said “you could wear them, they look fine, but why would you” meaning that other types of pants look significantly better.  However I am begining to feel a little bit dated in some of my old boot cut jeans.  So to make a long story even longer I decided to make some “not quite skinny jeans” and see how they look.  So they are tight through the thighs, not tight at the knees, skim my calves then fall straight to my ankles.

I think they turned out pretty good, I lowered the rise about an inch from my last attempt, and I like that in the front, but I feel like it is too low in the back.  Can you have a higher rise in the back then the front?

So I am really digging my gray jeans.  They are neutral but still different and they fit great and are really comfortable.

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gray Jeans, and this is as skinny as I go.

  1. PendleStitches says:

    Ah, the joy of making your own clothes is that you can have whatever you want! These look amazing. I’m seriously contemplating making my own jeans and I have to say these inspire me to stop contemplating and start sewing. I love that they are slim without being overly skinny. They are very flattering indeed.
    Oh, and congrats on the 10lbs!

  2. I think these look great on you – well done! I still haven’t ventured into pant making territory… one of these days.

  3. Tanit-Isis says:

    They look great! This is actually my favourite cut (fitted through the thigh, straight below the knee) of all time—and as far as I can tell, I’m the figure type “skinny” jeans were designed for :P. (Which is to say, I have narrow hips and muscular calves…)

    And you can ABSOLUTELY have a lower rise in the front than the back. Especially if you have a bit of booty going on. The easiest way to adjust it at this point may be to add a wedge at the CB, though.

  4. meli88a says:

    These look so good on you. I can’t tell from the photos that the front rise is higher than the back, and I doubt anyone can tell in person either. They are just the right amount of skinny. I think skinny includes everything from what you’re wearing to jeggings. And jeggings, in my opinion, are a little too much. Despite the old adage about never being too skinny, there is such a thing as too skinny!

  5. dixie says:

    stop making me jealous of you! i am jealous because a) you are the queen of jeans and b) where did you get gray? i’ve been on the hunt but all i can find in denim are black and blues plus the occasional color. are they 100% cotton or do they have some stretch in them? oh, and all my RTW jeans are higher in the back than the front.

  6. Kelli says:

    I love them! Where do you get your jean hard ware (gromets and such)? I have just started to follow your blog and I enjoy your style.

    • montanachic says:

      Thanks so much, I learned a lot about making jeans from Melissa over at Fehrtrade she has a link in that post to where she gets her hardware and I ordered a bunch and have been very happy with them. She also does a little tutorial on how to use them correctly. You should totally make your own jeans, they are the best!

  7. melissa says:

    The fit is AWESOME on these, omg! I think they look utterly fabulous, and you know what a sucker I am for grey anyway. 🙂

    And now I come here and see you bigging me up in the comments, too! Hugs! (oh, and if you look in the comments on that jeans rivets post, Junior’s giving FehrTrade readers a special discount, too)

  8. Sophia says:

    Great jeans! You really nailed the fit!

    I’ve been considering jean types, myself. Skinny jeans definitely don’t work on my body and like you, the boot cut is beginning to feel a bit dated. I love what you have here, with the snug fit up top and a looser, but slim fit below the knee. Very nice.

  9. Mom says:

    They look wonderful, great, and just enough width all in all. Isn’t that what Clinton and Stacey say on WNTW? Fitted thru the hips and straight down for the best look on the legs and body in general. I have one comment though….I think the pockets are low low low in the back but maybe that is the way they are supposed to be? I really think they should be higher but then maybe not the style. the next time I have jeans on my body I am going to check the pocket placement and compare.

  10. Justine says:

    These look like two hundred dollar jeans! I can’t believe they are home done!

  11. Pingback: One last pair of jeans | montanachic

  12. Rosanne says:

    Just found your site during some random surfing on Pattern Review. Love love love the jeans! How have they held up over time? I came across that same denim at my Joann’s in Phoenix and passed because of a prevus bad experience with their denim (made the incredibly shrinking skirt that, despite prewashing and drying 4 times just got smaller and smaller with every wash and unevenly to boot). The alterations you made to your pants pattern are the design elements of $250+ jeams, like Paige denim and others. Great work with the jeans – they are fabulous on!

Leave a Reply

