One last pair of jeans

I decided when I made my gray jeans the other week that I may as well make one more pair while all the alterations and fitting issues were fresh in my head.  Since I liked the slim fit in the calves of the gray pair I decided to use the same effect in a pair of dark wash denim.  The results….  they are okay, they fit really well, but I don’t seem to like them as much as my gray pair.  I think the difference is that I used stretch denim for these and I don’t like the fit as much.  Now don’t get me wrong, stretch denim definitely has a place in this world.  If  you are buying store bought jeans stretch denim makes it work when the fit isn’t perfect, but if you are able to get a perfect fit then regular denim does a lot for improving the look of the jeans, kind of like a corset for your legs.  Now I know the thought of a  corset on your legs sounds terribly uncomfortable, but I can’t overstate how much more comfortable jeans are when they fit perfectly.  So here they are.

I have no idea what I am doing with my face here, so go ahead and mock me because I probably deserve it and I can’t hear you.

So I am happy with these jeans and I know I will wear them tons.  I am also ready to sew something fun with beautiful fabric.  Making jeans is very satisfying but staring at denim while you sew is just not as fun as a lot of other fabrics out there.  All in all I am super happy last year that I took on the project of making my own pattern and sewing my own pants.  I have now made 5 pair of pants from that pattern, the fit and comfort are so much better than store bought and I am saving a bucket load of money on it also.

This entry was posted in bottoms. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to One last pair of jeans

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    I think they look great, but I’m a fan of stretch denim at the best of times—I don’t find non-stretch very comfortable (at least in the tightness I prefer).

    I need to psych myself up to make some more jeans—I need to re-trace my pattern, though, the old version is too beat up!

    • montanachic says:

      Ha, isn’t it true how you do have to psych yourself up to take them on!

      • Tanit-Isis says:

        Which is funny because once I’m actually working on them they’re not that bad. It’s the pattern-fix that’s got me kinda stymied right now. Well, that and the fact that I’m having trouble focusing on anything longer than five minutes right now…

  2. mrsmole says:

    They look super! Even better than RTW! The topstitching is super. You should be so proud of yourself!

  3. Emily says:

    These look fab and I think they’re as cool as the grey ones. Amazing job.

  4. Karen Stewart-Jones says:

    I think your jeans look great! how about making a sixth pair and doing a wee tutorial?

  5. Karen Stewart-Jones says:

    Your jeans look great! How about making a sixth pair and doing a wee tutorial?

    Karen

  6. Mom says:

    Fantastic! they have a skinny look about them but not emaciated skinny.
    Good job.

  7. Super flattering and very stylish. Jealous!

  8. Kristina says:

    Way to conquer the fierceness! I love denim, but am always afraid to work with it, cuz I never buy the right needles so my fine fabric needles always break. =) Way cool work, mah dear.

  9. Camille says:

    Very impressive and you look good in them too. 🙂

  10. Carolyn says:

    Your jeans are totally awesome, as are your light grey ones! You have really mastered all the details! and the fit is spot on. It is fantastic to have a great pattern worked out to be perfect suited to yourself like this. You look gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

