I have my sewing mojo back!

Do you ever get stuck in those ruts where you one- can’t make yourself sew anything, or two- if you do manage to sew anything you can’t make your self take any pictures of it (possibly because you are also in the not doing your hair or make up rut and there is NO WAY you are taking a picture of that)?  Well I have been in one of those ruts for the last little while and I want to give a special thanks to Miranda over at One Little Minute for making her Summer Chevron Dress.  I knew I had to have one and I had some navy and white stripped knit that I got at the thrift store for a buck that would be perfect.  I say would be because while it was the perfect knit I of course didn’t have enough of it.  So I decided to make a top instead.  So I got out a dolman sleeve top I love the fit of, folded it in half and traced at a 45 degree angle to the stripes.  Then took the first piece and layed it on another section of the fabric so the stripes matched up perfectly cutting out my last three pattern pieces this way.  Then I serged it all together and used some old navy ribbing for the neck, hem and sleeves.  I can guarantee it took me longer to cut out the fabric then to sew it together, but all together I think the whole thing came together in about an hour.  Here it is…

So yes it is way different from her dress, but I do love it and she is doing a tutorial for her dress next week so maybe I will try to find a wider stripe to make the dress also.  So have a great Easter and good luck with your sewing mojo!

This entry was posted in tops. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I have my sewing mojo back!

  1. katiedmd says:

    I love this so much!! Pinning and copying.

  2. Meredith says:

    Ooh, very nice! I bet you’ll get lots of compliments on this one. Also, i love the side braid…your hair is getting so long!

  3. Mom says:

    As the French are won’t to say, “Sooooooo-pair!

  4. Such perfect stripe-matching! Love the look with the ribbing bands.

  5. PendleStitches says:

    Gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous.

  6. I just discovered this today from your flickr set. Such a sensational looking top! You totally rock this! Thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

