Happy birthday to me with a new maxi dress!

Today is my birthday and it has been a great one.  My honey took the day off, mostly for my birthday and a little bit to watch a baseball game :).  I don’t care the reason I loved it.  This might be a request of mine from now on.  I got to sleep in.  I took a shower without being interrupted by my children asking for food, to play the wii, to play on the computer, etc.  Why can’t my children ever interrupt my shower to  ask if they can do the dishes, or wash the car. or maybe fold some laundry?  Moving on here, after my luxurious shower I went down in my sewing room and spent the morning sewing something just for me.  It was great, I had no interuptions except my sisters (I have six of them) calling to wish me happy birthday.  I have been wanting another maxi dress and I recently found some fabric floating around in my stash that gave me a color blocked maxi dress idea.  I was very excited to get some use out of my new dress form that I found on craigslist.  Here she is… or not since I just realized I deleted my picture of it.  Anyway I pinned all my fabric to her to get an idea of how the dress would look and it was great.  I love this.  then I used a tank top that fits well to get my rough pattern

I made the top of this dress completely out of scraps and the bottom was one solid piece that gave me the color blocking idea in the first place.

So I basically just copied the tank top, then added the dark “belt” piece to get the right length and sewed the bottom on.  It was quick, easy, and used up fabric I already had.

Brittan always works her way into a picture whenever the camera comes out (oh and she is dressing herself these days, her clothing combinations are usually pretty interesting :).  Well I am off to enjoy some chocolate birthday cake with chocolate whipped cream frosting, YUM!

Happy creating!

 

This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy birthday to me with a new maxi dress!

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Most happy birthday wishes to you! I love your creation, its wonderful on you!

  2. Meredith says:

    No better interruption than a fabulous sister, lol. Based on your day, I may ask for something similar for my birthday:)

  3. Anni says:

    Happy Birthday! Cute dress, a great way to use left overs.

  4. Camille says:

    Happy Birthday! Love the dress and love how you always use what you have. it is inspiring!

  5. Tanit-Isis says:

    Happy birthday! Sounds like a lovely way to spend the day. And the dress is great too. 🙂

  6. gMarie says:

    Happy Birthday – sounds like it was fabulous! Hope hubby takes your birthday off every year. Love the new dress. g

  7. Happy birthday! And what a great dress–very cool colorblocking.

  8. dixiediy says:

    Happy birthday! It sounds like a wonderful day. Cute dress, I love how you incorporated so many fabrics. And wowza – 6 sisters!? Any bros in there at all?

  9. Your blog are impressive to each other.I read your blog its very good and friendly, Help ful for all.

    DISPLAY MANNEQUINS MANUFACTURER.

  10. Your blog are impressive to each other.its very useful to me.I read your blog its very good and friendly, Help ful for all.

    DISPLAY MANNEQUINS MANUFACTURER.

  11. Your blog are impressive to each other.its very useful to me.I read your blog its very good and friendly, Help ful for all.

    DISPLAY MANNEQUINS MANUFACTURER.

Leave a Reply

